Awards & Winners

CineVision Award

Sponsored by German film and TV rights society Gesellschaft zur Wahrnehmung von Film- und Fernsehrechten (GWFF), the CineVision Award carries a purse of €12,000 and honors the producer of an international newcomer film. The award has been presented at FILMFEST MÜNCHEN since 2007, since 2012 it has its own section. An independent three-member jury elects the winner.

CineVision Award 2016

 

Winner 2016

DIVINES
Director: Houda Benyamina

 


F.l.: jury members Amir Hamz and Sibylle Canonica, Elena Diesbach, producer Marc Benoit Creancier, Dr. Gertie Müller-Ernstberger (GWFF) and jury member Max Wagner

 

Jury Statement:
When Dunya gets into her imaginary Ferrari with her girlfriend Maimouna and seems to float through a concrete wasteland, it soon becomes clear that she has set her sights high. In DIVINES, first-time director Uda Benyamina portrays a world in which the first imperative is to get rich regardless of the consequences. The main character, Dunya – forcefully embodied by Oulaya Amamra – represents the hopeless situation of youth in the French banlieues. To escape, crime seems to be the only way out. Uda Benyamina tells the rise-and-fall story of 16-year-old Dunya with energetic images and an unrestrained force. In a male-dominated world, the story unfolds from the perspective of young girls against a very up-to-date backdrop of world in disarray. Everything seems to be hopeless and vibrant at the same time, which is especially the case for the characters. Every scene reflects the two main themes of the film: the sober indifference of a bleak environment and the vigor of the people who wish to assert themselves in these surroundings. Shot in intense images and aided by smartphone footage and contrasting Baroque music, with DIVINES the director succeeds in presenting a gem in the form of a great cinematic piece.

 

Special Mention 2016

BELLA E PERDUTA
Director: Pietro Marcello

 

Jury 2016

MAX WAGNER

Born in Munich in 1969, studied law in Munich and Paris, then singing in Dresden and Mainz. Worked as attorney and singer in Munich. Managing director of Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra 2005 to 2011, then managing director of the Gärtnerplatz in Munich. Wagner became Assistant Director of the Gasteig cultural center in March 2016, which he will take over as General Director March 2017.

 

SIBYLLE CANONICA

Born in Bern, Switzerland, in 1957. Studied Drama at the Folkwang Academy in Essen. She joined the ensemble of the Staatstheater Oldenburg, then joined the Munich Kammerspiele in 1985 and the Bavarian Staatsschauspiel 2001. She is a regular cast member of the Vienna and Salzburg drama festivals, and has acted on screen in films like Osacar nominee BEYOND SILENCE and BELLA MARTHA.

 

AMIR HAMZ

Born in Frankfurt am Main in 1979. Amir Hamz studied documentary directing, journalism and political science. He began directing and producing documentaries and music videos in 2004, including his graduating film SOUNDS OF SILENCE (2006), a theatrical doc about the underground music scene in Tehran. Since 2011, Hamz has focused on producing in Europe and Iran, and founded the "SCHOLARtreat" grant program for writers. He has produced theatrical films like DER NACHTMAHR, PARADISE and THE DARK SIDE OF THE MOON.

 

 

Previous Winners

2015

SLEEPING GIANT
Director: Andrew Cividino

2014

LE MERAVIGLIE - DIE WUNDER
Director: Alice Rohrwacher

2013

MY DOG KILLER
Director: Mira Fornay

HALLEY
Director: Sebastián Hofmann

2012

ABRIR PUERTAS Y VENTANAS
Director: Milagros Mumenthaler

Honorary Mention:
Z DALEKA WIDOK JEST PIEKNY

Director: Anka & Wilhelm Sasnal

2011

TYRANNOSAUR
Director: Paddy Considine

2010

THE FOUR TIMES (LE QUATTRO VOLTE)
Director: Michelangelo Frammartino

2009

EVERYTHING STRANGE AND NEW
Director: Frazer Bradshaw

2008

EVERYBODY DIES BUT ME
Director: Valeria Gaia Germanica

2007

THE BAND`S VISIT
Director: Eran Kolirin

Preise & Preisträger

CineVision Award

Die Gesellschaft zur Wahrnehmung von Film- und Fernsehrechten (GWFF) stiftet den mit 12.000 € dotierten CineVision Award. Der Preis wird seit 2007 auf dem FILMFEST MÜNCHEN vergeben. Seit 2012 in der Reihe Wettbewerb CineVision. Er würdigt das Engagement eines Produzenten/einer Produzentin für einen internationalen Nachwuchsfilm. Über den Gewinner entscheidet eine dreiköpfige Jury.

CineVision Award 2016

 

Gewinner 2016

DIVINES
Regie: Houda Benyamina

 


V.l.: die Juroren Amir Hamz und Sibylle Canonica, Elena Diesbach, Produzent Marc Benoit Creancier, Preisstifterin Dr. Gertie Müller-Ernstberger (GWFF), sowie Juror Max Wagner

 

Jurybegründung:
Als Dunya mit ihrer Freundin Maimouna in ihren imaginären Ferrari einsteigt und umgeben von Betonklötzen durch die Brachlandschaft zu schweben scheint, weiß man schnell, dass sie hoch hinaus will. Regie-Debütantin Uda Benyamina eröffnet uns in DIVINES eine Welt, in der das erste Gebot ist, zu Geld zu kommen, ohne Rücksicht auf Verluste. Ihre Hauptfigur Dunya – sehr überzeugend verkörpert von Oulaya Amamra – steht für die ausweglose Situation der Jugend aus den französischen Banlieues. Um aus dem Sumpf zu entkommen, scheint der kriminelle Weg der Einzige zu sein. Uda Benyamina erzählt die Geschichte vom Aufstieg und Fall der 16jährigen Dunya mit energiegeladenen Bildern und mit einer unbändigen Kraft. In dieser von Männern dominierten Welt schildert sie dies aus der Perspektive der jungen Mädchen und vor dem hochaktuellen Hintergrund einer aus den Fugen geratenen Gesellschaft. Alles scheint hoffnungslos und kraftvoll zugleich zu sein, das gilt vor allem für die Figuren. So spiegeln sich in jeder Szene letztlich auch die zwei Hauptthemen des Films wider: die nüchterne Gleichgültigkeit eines trostlosen Milieus und die Kräfte der Menschen, die sich dort behaupten wollen. Realisiert in intensiven Bildern und durch die Hinzunahme von Handy-Aufnahemn und kontrastierender Barockmusik, gelingt der Regisseurin mit DIVINES gleichermaßen ein Kleinod wie auch großes Kino.

 

Special Mention 2016

BELLA E PERDUTA
Regie: Pietro Marcello

 

Jury 2016

 

MAX WAGNER

1969 in München geboren, studierte Wagner Jura in München und Paris und anschließend Gesang in Dresden und Mainz. Nach dem Referendariat in München arbeitete er als Rechtsanwalt und Sänger. Von 2005 bis 2011 war er Geschäftsführender Intendant des Stuttgarter Kammerorchesters. 2012 bis Ende 2015 war er Geschäftsführender Direktor des Staatstheaters am Gärtnerplatz in München. Im März 2016 bezog Wagner als Stellvertretender Geschäftsführer sein Büro im Gasteig, das er ab März 2017 als Geschäftsführer leiten wird.

 

SIBYLLE CANONICA

Geboren 1957 in Bern. Sie studierte Schauspiel an der Folkwang Hochschule in Essen. Ihr erstes Engagement erhielt sie am Staatstheater Oldenburg, nach weiteren Stationen ging sie 1985 an die Münchner Kammerspiele. Seit 2001 ist sie am Bayerischen Staatsschauspiel engagiert. Regelmäßig gastiert sie bei den Wiener Festwochen und den Salzburger Festspielen. Außerdem hat sie in zahlreichen Fernseh- und Kinoproduktionen wie dem osacarnominierten JENSEITS DER STILLE und BELLA MARTHA mitgewirkt.

 

AMIR HAMZ

Geboren 1979 in Frankfurt am Main. Amir Hamz studierte Dokumentarfilmregie, Journalistik und Politikwissenschaft. Ab 2004 arbeitete er als Regisseur und Produzent für Dokumentarfilme und Musikvideos. Darunter sein Abschlussfilm SOUNDS OF SILENCE (2006), eine Kinodoku über die Underground-Musikszene Teherans. Seit 2011 fokussierte Hamz sich auf die Produzenten-Tätigkeit in Europa sowie im Iran und ist Initiator des "SCHOLARtreat"-Autorenprogramms. Seitdem produzierte er Kinofilme wie DER NACHTMAHR, PARADISE und DIE DUNKLE SEITE DES MONDES.

 

Bisherige Preisträger

2015

SLEEPING GIANT
Regie: Andrew Cividino

2014

LE MERAVIGLIE - DIE WUNDER
Regie: Alice Rohrwacher

2013

MY DOG KILLER
Regie: Mira Fornay

HALLEY
Regie: Sebastián Hofmann

2012

ABRIR PUERTAS Y VENTANAS
Regie: Milagros Mumenthaler

Lobende Erwähnung:
Z DALEKA WIDOK JEST PIEKNY

Regie: Anka & Wilhelm Sasnal

2011

TYRANNOSAUR
Regie: Paddy Considine

2010

THE FOUR TIMES (LE QUATTRO VOLTE)
Regie: Michelangelo Frammartino

2009

EVERYTHING STRANGE AND NEW
Regie: Frazer Bradshaw

2008

EVERYBODY DIES BUT ME
Regie: Valeria Gaia Germanica

2007

THE BAND`S VISIT
Regie: Eran Kolirin