Mission Statement

Every summer, the international FILMFEST MÜNCHEN celebrates the best international and German films of the year.

We love films, and we love cinema. We share this love with our enthusiastic audiences as well as with the German and international film industry. FILMFEST MÜNCHEN is the place for anyone who wants to be moved by films, who wants to get to know the people behind them, who wants to network in relaxed surroundings as well as strengthen established ties.

Our aim is to promote cultural exchange and broad-mindedness. FILMFEST MÜNCHEN stands for cosmopolitan principles and diversity and explicitly rejects any kind of exclusion or marginalization. In Munich, film artists from around the world have a platform for the issues that motivate them and the stories they wish to relate.

Around 500 film screenings and numerous other events invite visitors to become acquainted with new content, new technology, and current trends — but above all to interact with people and exchange ideas.

FILMFEST MÜNCHEN sees itself as a host whose doors are wide open to everyone.

Last but not least, the international FILMFEST MÜNCHEN has its eye on the next generation of children and youth, broadening their horizons, conveying that cinema is an experience, and providing both educational value and fun. That's our motto at Kinderfilmfest and our youth event.

Mission Statement

Das internationale FILMFEST MÜNCHEN feiert jeden Sommer die besten internationalen und deutschen Filme des Jahres.

Wir lieben Filme und wir lieben das Kino. Und wir teilen diese Liebe mit unserem begeisterten Publikum und der deutschen und internationalen Branche. Wer sich von Filmen bewegen lassen und die Macher*innen kennenlernen will, wer in entspannter Atmosphäre neue Kontakte knüpfen und alte vertiefen möchte, für den ist das FILMFEST MÜNCHEN der richtige Ort.

Unser Ziel ist die Förderung des kulturellen Austauschs und der Toleranz. Das FILMFEST MÜNCHEN steht für Weltoffenheit und Diversität und wendet sich klar gegen jede Art der Ab- und Ausgrenzung. Filmkünstler*innen aus aller Welt haben in München ein Podium, auf dem sie zeigen können, welche Themen sie bewegen und welche Geschichten sie uns erzählen wollen.

Rund 500 Kinovorstellungen und zahlreiche weitere Veranstaltungen laden ein zur Begegnung mit neuen Inhalten, neuen Technologien und Trends – vor allem aber zur Begegnung mit Menschen und Ideen und zum gemeinsamen Austausch.

Das FILMFEST MÜNCHEN versteht sich dabei als Gastgeber, dessen Türen für alle weit offen stehen.

Last but not least hat das internationale FILMFEST MÜNCHEN auch die nächste Generation fest im Blick: Kindern und jungen Menschen neue Welten zu eröffnen, sie an den Erlebnisort Kino heranzuführen und dabei über dem pädagogischen Konzept den Spaß nicht zu vergessen – das ist unser Motto beim Kinderfilmfest und Jugend-Event.