Program Team

  • Diana Iljine

    Festival Director

    Born in Frankfurt, majored in communications at Munich University, then went on to work in film and TV for 25 years, mainly in sales & acquisitions. She co-wrote a book on producing, "Der Produzent", which became a standard reference work. In 2008, she went freelance as consultant for international licensing, co-productions and video on demand. She completed her MBA in 2011 at Berlin's Steinbeis business school and became head of FILMFEST MÜNCHEN in August 2011.

  • Florian Borchmeyer

    International Program

    Born 1974 in Wasserburg, Bavaria. Studied literature in Berlin, Havana and Paris. PhD in philosophy 2006 with a dissertation on chronicles of the discovery of the Americas. Bavarian Film Prize 2006 for the documentary "Havana - The New Art of Building Ruins". He works as filmmaker and literary critic for Frankfurter Allgemeine, as well as for TV magazine formats. Since 2011/12 he has worked as dramaturg at the Schaubühne Lehniner Platz. For FILMFEST MÜNCHEN, he handles international programming, concentrating on Latin America and the Iberian peninsula.

  • Ulrike Frick

    New German TV Movies

    Born 1970. PhD. in History, and Literature from Munich University 2003, then went to work as a journalist and editor for film, TV and literary subjects. Joined FILMFEST MÜNCHEN 2004. Has handled the New German TV Movie section since 2007.

  • Sofia Glasl

    International Program

    Sofia Glasl majored in Theater Arts, German and English Studies at LMU in Munich until 2012. Her doctoral thesis was on the films of Jim Jarmusch. She then worked for German broadcaster ZDF and for various cultural projects at the Literaturhaus in Munich as well as for Filmfest München. She has organized numerous film events and scientific presentations in addition to publishing numerous articles about the cinema. In October 2015, she began an additional post-graduate course in Theater, Film and Television Criticism at the Munich University for Television and Film. At Filmfest München, she heads the International Independents and Series sections and also is the programmer responsible for Scandinavian films.

  • Christoph Gröner

    New German Cinema

    Studied in Munich, Venice and Salamanca. Journalist for SZ, Die Welt, AZ since 2004. Column in trade "Blickpounkt:Film" until 2011. Host of Film School Fest Munich since 2005, programmer with FILMFEST MÜNCHEN since 2008, handles New German Cinema since 2011. Film journalism award FFF Bayern 2006.

  • Katrin Hoffmann


    M.A. in Literature 1989. Has handled the Kinderfilmfest Munich since 2005. Writes for epd-FILM and other trades. "Magic Shadows", a children's book on cinema history, published by Filmmuseum Frankfurt 1989. In 2011/12 Katrin Hoffmann ran the KidsFilm tour, sponsored by German theater AG Kino-Gilde.

  • Bernhard Karl

    International Program

    Studied art history and German literature in Munich and got his start as a theatre director’s assistant at the Münchner Kammerspiele under directors such as Dieter Dorn and Peter Zadek. He went on to directed numerous plays in Ulm, Zurich, Tübingen, Oberhausen and the Maxim-Gorki Theater in Berlin. In 2001 he started casting films with Anja Dihrberg for directors such as S. Wortmann, H. Handloegten, E. Atef, S. Schipper, Paul Schrader and Hal Hartley. He is the director and programmer of the “Around the World in 14 Films Festival” in Berlin, which he founded in 2006. He joined the Munich Film Festival in 2008 as a programmer focusing on films from Asia, the Middle East, Africa and Eastern Europe. As of 2017, he will also be responsible for France and Belgium. In 2013 he became the director of the F.I.N.D.+ Festival at Berlin’s renowned Schaubühne.

Programm Team

  • Diana Iljine

    Festivaldirektorin

    Diana Iljine, geboren in Frankfurt am Main, studierte in München Kommunikationswissenschaften und arbeitet seit 25 Jahren im Bereich Film und Fernsehen, davon viele Jahre als Filmeinkäuferin. Ihr Buch "Der Produzent" avancierte zum Standardwerk. Seit 2008 arbeitete sie als Beraterin für internationale Lizenzen, Ko-Produktionen und im Bereich Video On Demand. 2011 beendete sie ein Wirtschaftsstudium/MBA an der Steinbeishochschule in Berlin. Seit August 2011 ist sie die Leiterin des FILMFEST MÜNCHEN.

  • Florian Borchmeyer

    Internationales Programm
    florian.borchmeyer(at)filmfest-muenchen.de

    Geboren 1974 in Wasserburg am Inn. Studium der Literaturwissenschaft in Berlin, Havanna und Paris. 2006 Doktor der Philosophie mit einer Dissertation über Chroniken der Entdeckung Amerikas. Bayerischer Filmpreis 2006 für Doku "Havanna - Die neue Kunst, Ruinen zu bauen". Filmemacher und Literaturkritiker für die F.A.Z. sowie Autor für Fernsehmagazine aspekte, Kulturzeit und Foyer. Seit 2011/12 Dramaturg Schaubühne Lehniner Platz. Beim Filmfest München kuratiert er das internationale Filmprogramm mit Schwerpunkt auf Lateinamerika und die Iberische Halbinsel.

  • Ulrike Frick

    Neues Deutsches Fernsehen
    ulrike.frick(at)filmfest-muenchen.de

    Jahrgang 1970. Magister-Studium der Alten und Neueren Geschichte, Theater- und Literaturwissenschaften in München und Trier. 2003 Promotion zum Dr. phil.. Sie ist seit dem Ende ihres Volontariats 1992 erst als Redakteurin, später als freiberufliche Journalistin für Kultur-, Film- und Fernsehthemen sowie Literaturrezensionen und Reisereportagen bei diversen Tageszeitungen und Magazinen tätig. Beim FILMFEST MÜNCHEN ab 2004 beschäftigt. Seit 2007 kuratiert sie die Programmreihe der deutschsprachigen Fernsehfilme und -serien.

  • Sofia Glasl

    Internationales Programm
    sofia.glasl(at)filmfest-muenchen.de

    Sofia Glasl studierte Theaterwissenschaft, Germanistik und Anglistik in München. 2012 Promotion über das Filmwerk von Jim Jarmusch. Sie arbeitete unter anderem für das ZDF und betreute Kulturprojekte für das Literaturhaus München und das Filmfest München. Organisatorin verschiedener Filmveranstaltungen und wissenschaftlicher Lesungen. Sie veröffentlicht filmwissenschaftliche und filmjournalistische Texte. Seit Oktober 2015 absolviert sie den Aufbaustudiengang „Theater-, Film- und Fernsehkritik“ an der HFF München. Beim Filmfest München betreut sie die American Indies, die skandinavischen Filme und die Serien.

  • Christoph Gröner

    Neues Deutsches Kino
    christoph.groener(at)filmfest-muenchen.de

    Studium in München, Venedig und Salamanca. Seit 2004 Kultur- und Medienjournalist (SZ, Welt, AZ, Film&TV-Kameramann, Cinearte). Bis 2011 Rubrik "First Look" in Blickpunkt:Film, zahlreiche Moderationen. Ab 2008 Internationaler Programmer, seit 2012 verantwortlich für Neues Deutsches Kino beim FILMFEST MÜNCHEN. Förderpreis Filmjournalismus FFF Bayern 2006.

  • Katrin Hoffmann

    Kinderfilmfest
    katrin.hoffmann(at)filmfest-muenchen.de

    Katrin Hoffmann hat 1989 ihren Magister in Germanistik und Theaterwissenschaft gemacht. Seitdem ist sie im Film- und Medienpädagogischen Bereich tätig und ist seit 2005 für das Kinderfilmfest München verantwortlich. Nebenbei schreibt sie unter anderem für epd-FILM und verschiedene Fachveröffentlichungen. Autorin des Buches "Magische Schatten", ein Kinderbuch zur Entstehung des Kinos, (1989, Hrsg. Filmmuseum Frankfurt). Zudem war Katrin Hoffmann 2011/12 Projektleiterin der Kinderfilm Tour "KidsFilm", eine Initiative der AG Kino-Gilde.

  • Bernhard Karl

    Internationales Programm
    bernhard.karl(at)filmfest-muenchen.de

    Studium der Kunstgeschichte und ND Literatur in München. Langjähriger Regieassistent an den Münchner Kammerspielen u.a. bei Dieter Dorn und Peter Zadek. Eigene Theaterinszenierungen in Ulm, Zürich, Tübingen, Oberhausen und am Maxim-Gorki Theater Berlin. Seit 2001 Casting Director bei Anja Dihrberg u.a. für S. Wortmann, H. Handloegten, E. Atef, S. Schipper, Paul Schrader und Hal Hartley. Seit 2006 Gründer, Leiter und Programmchef des Berliner Festivals "Around the World in 14 Films". Seit 2008 Kurator beim Filmfest München für alle Filme aus Asien, Nahost, Afrika, Osteuropa und, ab 2017, für Frankreich, Belgien und Québec. Seit 2013 Leitung F.I.N.D.+ Festival an der Berliner Schaubühne.