OFFICE (3D)
Filmfest 2016

German Age Rating

Film Website

Watch Trailer

Time is money, you can tell by the huge clock which dominates the generous offices of Chinese trading company Jones & Sunn. The year is 2008, China is booming, and the upcoming IPO has the staff just as preoccupied as their numerous affairs and intrigues, with everyone wanting to know who the female CEO is bedding. The financial crisis is looming, but Hong Kong star director Johnnie To turns it into a grandly staged 3D musical inside the big money-making machine with stars like Chow Yun-fat and Sylvia Chang, on whose play “Design for Living” this expertly filmed dance of dollars was based. Supported by the Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office, Berlin.

tags: Work, Far East, Humor, Music, Feature film, Dance

Cast: Yun Fat Chow, Sylvia Chang, Wei Tang, Eason Chan

Credits

Screenplay: Sylvia Chang

Director of Photography: Siu-Keung Cheng

Film Editor: David Richardson

Composer: Fai Young Chan, Ta-Yu Lo

Production Designer: William Chang, Yau Wai Ming

Costume Design: William Chang, Fung-San Lui

Sound: Tu Duu-Shih

Producer: Johnnie To, Sylvia Chang

Production Company: Beijing Hairun Pictures Co., Ltd., Edko Films Ltd., Zhejiang Unique Media Co., Ltd., Le Vision Pictures Co., Ltd. Sun Entertainment Culture Ltd., Media Asia Film Production Ltd., Milkyway Image (HK) Ltd., China Movie Channel (CCTV-6, IQIYI Motion Pictures Co., Ltd., Huaxia Film Distribution Co., Ltd.

World Sales: Edko Films Ltd.

Director: Johnnie To

biography

Johnnie To was born in Hong Kong 1955. He began working as production assistant at Television Broadcasts Limited (TVB), where he went on to work as producer and director in the drama dept. for three years. He had his feature directing debut with THE ENIGMATIC CASE (1980), an historical martial arts film starring Damian Lau. He shot over 30 films in the 1980s and 1990s, including THE STORY OF AH LONG (1989) with Chow Yun-Fat, which became one of the biggest box-office hits in Hong Kong that year. He has been invited to major festivals like Cannes and Venice numerous times. His international hits include BREAKING NEWS (2004), ELECTION (2005), ELECTION 2 (2006), EXILED (2006), MAD DETECTIVE (2007) and DRUG WAR (2012).

OFFICE (3D)
Filmfest 2016

Zeit ist Geld, das sieht man allein an der riesigen Uhr, die im weitschweifigen Büro der chinesischen Handelsfirma Jones & Sunn die überwältigende Optik mitbestimmt. Es ist 2008, und nicht nur der bevorstehende Börsengang des Unternehmens sorgt für Turbulenzen, sondern auch die Affären unter den Mitarbeitern, wobei jeder weiß, mit wem der weibliche CEO ins Bett geht. Die Finanzkrise steht bevor, aber Hong Kongs Meisterregisseur Johnnie To nimmt sie heiter, inszeniert das Treiben in der Geldmachmaschine als Musical in 3D im grandiosen Setdesign, mit Stars wie Chow Yun-fat und Sylvia Chang, deren Theaterstück „Design for Living“ Grundlage dieses virtuos gefilmten Business-Reigens ist. Unterstützt vom Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office, Berlin.

tags: Arbeit, Fernost, Humor, Musik, Spielfilm, Tanz

Darsteller: Yun Fat Chow, Sylvia Chang, Wei Tang, Eason Chan

Credits

Drehbuch: Sylvia Chang

Kamera: Siu-Keung Cheng

Schnitt: David Richardson

Musik: Fai Young Chan, Ta-Yu Lo

Produktionsdesign: William Chang, Yau Wai Ming

Kostüme: William Chang, Fung-San Lui

Ton: Tu Duu-Shih

Produzent: Johnnie To, Sylvia Chang

Produktion (Firma): Beijing Hairun Pictures Co., Ltd., Edko Films Ltd., Zhejiang Unique Media Co., Ltd., Le Vision Pictures Co., Ltd. Sun Entertainment Culture Ltd., Media Asia Film Production Ltd., Milkyway Image (HK) Ltd., China Movie Channel (CCTV-6, IQIYI Motion Pictures Co., Ltd., Huaxia Film Distribution Co., Ltd.

Weltvertrieb: Edko Films Ltd.

Regie: Johnnie To

Biografie

Johnnie To wurde 1955 in Hongkong geboren. Er begann seine Karriere als Produktionsassistent beim chinesischen Fernsehsender Television Broadcasts Limited (TVB) und arbeitete dort nach drei Jahren als Regisseur und Produzent im Bereich Drama. Mit THE ENIGMATIC CASE (1980) legte er sein Regiedebüt vor – ein historischer Martial-Arts-Film mit Damian Lau in der Hauptrolle. In den 1980ern und 1990ern drehte er über 30 Filme, darunter THE STORY OF AH LONG (1989) mit Chow Yun-Fat, der zu einem der größten Kassenschlager des Jahres in Hongkong wurde. Tos Filme hatten ihre Weltpremiere bei renommierten Festivals, darunter in Cannes und Venedig. Zu seinen größten internationalen Erfolgen zählen BREAKING NEWS (2004), ELECTION (2005), ELECTION 2 (2006), EXILED (2006), MAD DETECTIVE (2007) und DRUG WAR (2012).