ACTOR MARTINEZ
Filmfest 2016

Arthur Martinez is a computer techie in Denver who dreams of being an actor. He hasn’t had so many offers yet, so Arthur hires two directors to document his life and catapult him into the limelight. But director and star develop creative differences – and when they cast a female lead who reminds Arthur of his ex-wife, things start getting really awkward. In their fictional documentary – or documentary fiction – Mike Ott and Nathan Silver playfully interweave hope and disappointment, reality and illusion, art and commerce playfully and yet touchingly.

tags: Work, Filmmaking, Humor, Portrait

Cast: Arthur Martinez, Lindsay Burdge, Mike Ott, Nathan Silver, Kenneth Berba

Credits

Screenplay: Mike Ott, Nathan Silver

Director of Photography: Adam J. Minnick

Film Editor: Gerald D. Rossini

Composer: Paul Grimstad

Production Designer: Grace Sloan

Costume Design: Grace Sloan

Sound: Alfonso Sanz Arribas

Producer: Britta Erikson, Katie Shapiro, Patrick Hackett, Heika Burnison

Production Company: Mary Jane Films

World Sales: Mary Jane Films

Director: Michael Ott, Nathan Silver

biography

Mike Ott (first) attended California Institute of the Arts. His debut feature LITTLEROCK won numerous awards, including at the AFI Fest 2010. Together with PEARBLOSSOM HWY (2012) and LAKE LOS ANGELES (2014), it forms his Desert Trilogy.

Nathan Silver (second) grew up in Brooklyn and graduated from NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts 2005. He has earned a reputation for low-budget, emotionally intense tragicomedies like UNCERTAIN TERMS (2014) and STINKING HEAVEN (2015), both screened at FILMFEST MÜNCHEN.

ACTOR MARTINEZ
Filmfest 2016

Arthur Martinez arbeitet in Denver als Computertechniker, aber er träumt von einer Karriere als Schauspieler. Die Rollenangebote sind bislang ausgeblieben, also heuert Arthur zwei Regisseure an, die sein Leben dokumentieren und ihn so ins Rampenlicht schießen sollen. Doch über die Einzelheiten dieses Projekts entzweien sich Filmemacher und Hauptdarsteller zusehends – und als eine Darstellerin gecastet wird, die Arthurs Partnerin spielen soll und frappierend an seine Ex-Frau erinnert, wird der Dreh für alle Beteiligten immer unangenehmer. In ihrem fiktionalen Dokumentarfilm – oder ihrer dokumentarischen Fiktion – weben Mike Ott und Nathan Silver große Hoffnung und Enttäuschung, Illusion und Wirklichkeit, Markt und Kunst auf spielerisch leichte und dennoch gefühlvolle Weise ineinander.

tags: Arbeit, Filmemachen, Humor, Porträt

Darsteller: Arthur Martinez, Lindsay Burdge, Mike Ott, Nathan Silver, Kenneth Berba

Credits

Drehbuch: Mike Ott, Nathan Silver

Kamera: Adam J. Minnick

Schnitt: Gerald D. Rossini

Musik: Paul Grimstad

Produktionsdesign: Grace Sloan

Kostüme: Grace Sloan

Ton: Alfonso Sanz Arribas

Produzent: Britta Erikson, Katie Shapiro, Patrick Hackett, Heika Burnison

Produktion (Firma): Mary Jane Films

Weltvertrieb: Mary Jane Films

Regie: Michael Ott, Nathan Silver

Biografie

Mike Ott (oben) hat am California Institute of the Arts studiert. Sein Debüt LITTLEROCK gewann zahlreiche Preise, darunter den Publikumspreis beim AFI Fest 2010. Gemeinsam mit den Folgeprojekten PEARBLOSSOM HWY (2012) und LAKE LOS ANGELES (2014) bildet dieser Film seine „Wüstentrilogie“.

Nathan Silver (unten) wuchs in Brooklyn auf und schloss 2005 die New Yorker Tisch School of the Arts ab. In den vergangenen Jahren hat er sich einen Ruf gemacht mit niedrig budgetierten und emotional intensiven Tragikomödien wie UNCERTAIN TERMS (2014) oder STINKING HEAVEN (2015), die beide auf dem FILMFEST MÜNCHEN zu sehen waren.