THE DEAD AND THE OTHERS
Filmfest 2018

German Age Rating

Film Website

It's a quiet night in the rainforest of northern Brazil. No snakes are slithering around the village; no ghosts are haunting anyone's thoughts. At least it seems that way. Ihjãc is soaked with sweat in the darkness. His father calls out for him to come to the waterfall. His father is dead. Haunted by worries about his own future, Ihjãc leaves his home and takes up the life of an indigenous person in big-city Brazil. Fact and fiction intermingle in a film as magical as it is realistic. At the Cannes festival, it received the Jury Award in the category "Un Certain Regard".

tags: Cultural Conflict, Latin America, Nature, Feature film, Urban

Cast: Henrique Ihjãc Krahô, Raene Kôtô Krahô

Credits

Director of Photography: Renée Nader Messora

Film Editor: João Salaviza, Renée Nader Messora, Edgar Feldman

Sound: Pablo Lamar

Producer: Ricardo Alves Jr., Thiago Macêdo Correia, João Salaviza, Renée Nader Messora

Production Company: Entrefilmes

Co-Production Company: Karõ Filmes, Material Bruto

World Sales: Luxbox

Director: João Salaviza, Renée Nader Messora

biography

Born in Lisbon in 1984, João Salaviza attended the National Film and Theater Academy in Portugal and the Universidad del Cine in Buenos Aires. His short film ARENA was awarded the Golden Palm in Cannes in 2009, while its successor, RAFA was honored with the Golden Bear at the Berlinale in 2012. In 2015, Salaviza presented his first feature film, MOUNTAIN, at the Venice Film Festival.


Renée Nader Messora was born in São Paulo in 1979. She studied cinematography at the Universidad del Cine in Buenos Aires and worked in the Brazilian film industry for 15 years. Since 2009, she has been working with the Krahô people, assisting the indigenous population in the formation of a filmmakers' collective. CHUVA É CANTORIA NA ALDEIA DOS MORTOS is the first film she's directed.

CHUVA É CANTORIA NA ALDEIA DOS MORTOS
Filmfest 2018

Altersfreigabe

Zur Webseite

In dieser Nacht ist es ruhig im Regenwald im Norden Brasiliens. Keine Schlangen schleichen ums Dorf, keine Geister schweben durch die Sinne und Gedanken. Scheinbar. Ihjãc watet schweißnass in der Dunkelheit. Sein Vater ruft ihn zum Wasserfall. Sein Vater ist tot, und bei dem quälenden Gedanken an die eigene Zukunft verlässt Ihjãc seine Heimat und lernt das Leben eines Eingeborenen in der brasilianischen Großstadt kennen. Fakten und Fiktion schwimmen ineinander in diesem so magischen wie realistischen Werk, das beim Festival von Cannes mit dem Jurypreis in der Reihe „Un Certain Regard“ bedacht wurde.

tags: Kulturkonflikt, Lateinamerika, Natur, Spielfilm, Stadt

Darsteller: Henrique Ihjãc Krahô, Raene Kôtô Krahô

Credits

Kamera: Renée Nader Messora

Schnitt: João Salaviza, Renée Nader Messora, Edgar Feldman

Ton: Pablo Lamar

Produzent: Ricardo Alves Jr., Thiago Macêdo Correia, João Salaviza, Renée Nader Messora

Produktion (Firma): Entrefilmes

Koproduktion (Firma): Karõ Filmes, Material Bruto

Weltvertrieb: Luxbox

Regie: João Salaviza, Renée Nader Messora

Biografie

João Salaviza kam 1984 in Lissabon zur Welt. Er besuchte die portugiesische National Film and Theater Academy und die Universidad del Cine in Buenos Aires. Sein Kurzfilm ARENA wurde 2009 in Cannes mit der Goldenen Palme, der Nachfolger RAFA 2012 bei der Berlinale mit dem Goldenen Bären ausgezeichnet. 2015 stellte er sein Langfilmdebüt MOUNTAIN im Rahmen des Festivals von Venedig vor.


Renée Nader Messora kam 1979 in São Paulo zur Welt. Sie studierte Kamera an der Universidad del Cine in Buenos Aires und war fünfzehn Jahre lang in der brasilianischen Filmindustrie tätig. Seit 2009 arbeitet sie mit der Volksgruppe der Krahô zusammen und unterstützt die indigene Bevölkerung bei der Bildung eines eigenen Filmemacher*innen-Kollektivs. CHUVA É CANTORIA NA ALDEIA DOS MORTOS ist ihre erste Regiearbeit.