Bernhard Karl

Porträtbernhard (003)

Although I’ve left my hometown of Munich for Berlin, the Filmfest will always be my real home.

My passion for film and art in general was sparked in movie theaters and museums early in my youth. Traveling around the world in one’s thoughts, the grand philosophical notion of mankind: these things fascinate me! I was inspired to become a film curator at the very first FILMFEST MÜNCHEN in 1983, when my dream of becoming a film director led me via internships at the University of Television and Film Munich to the Münchner Kammerspiele in the era of Dieter Dorn, where as a long-time assistant director I found two inspiring mentors in him and Peter Zadek.

 

20180703 LG 7533

Various theater directing projects of my own followed, but they never made me as happy as my involvement with film at film festivals. So, as a casting director, I decided to find ways to have my own festival and founded “Around the World in 14 Films” in Berlin in 2006, which I have been able to cultivate in collaboration with various partners to this day.

In 2008, FILMFEST MÜNCHEN hired me as its curator for Asia, Africa, and parts of Europe. My beloved francophone world was added to this. I also take extreme pleasure in the final composition of the international competitions and the juries. Although I’ve left my hometown of Munich for Berlin, the Filmfest will always be my real home. Here you can truly enjoy films (and people’s company) without the anonymity and competitive pressure of the giant festivals. Key experiences here were meeting two of my icons of world cinema, Abbas Kiarostami and Jia Zhang-ke, and jointly presenting their new films. Both offer a view of the world that distills a philosophical perspective from everyday occurrences and a monumental view of history from the lives of individuals.

Bernhard Karl

Internationales Programm

Porträtbernhard (003)

Meine Heimatstadt München habe ich zwar Richtung Berlin verlassen, aber das Filmfest ist immer meine wahre Heimat geblieben.

Meine Leidenschaft für den Film und die Kunst im Allgemeinen entflammte schon in früher Jugend im Kino und im Museum. Die imaginäre Weltreise, das große philosophische Bild des Menschen, das fasziniert mich! Geprägt für meine Herzenstätigkeit als Filmkurator wurde ich beim allerersten FILMFEST MÜNCHEN 1983. Damals trug mich mein Traum, Regisseur zu werden, über Hospitanzen an der HFF München zu den Münchner Kammerspielen in der Dieter-Dorn-Ära, wo ich als langjähriger Regieassistent in ihm und in Peter Zadek zwei prägende Lehrer fand.

 

20180703 LG 7533

Diverse eigene Theaterregieprojekte folgten, die mich allerdings nie so glücklich machten wie die Auseinandersetzung mit Film auf Filmfestivals. So entschloss ich mich als Casting-Direktor Wege zu einem eigenen Festival zu finden und gründete 2006 „Around The World In 14 Films“ in Berlin, das ich bis heute mit diversen Partnern weiterentwickeln konnte.

2008 engagierte mich das Filmfest München als Kurator für Asien, Afrika und Teile Europas. Meine geliebte frankophone Welt kam hinzu. Extrem viel Freude macht mir auch die finale Zusammenstellung der internationalen Wettbewerbe und der Jurys. Meine Heimatstadt München habe ich zwar Richtung Berlin verlassen, aber das Filmfest ist immer meine wahre Heimat geblieben. Hier kann man ohne die Anonymität und den Wettbewerbsdruck der Riesenfestivals Filme (und Menschen) wahrhaft genießen. Zu Schlüsselerlebnissen wurden hier die Begegnung und gemeinsame Präsentation der neuen Filme von zwei meiner Ikonen des Weltkinos, Abbas Kiarostami und Jia Zhang-ke. Beide zeigen uns ein Bild der Welt, das aus dem Alltäglichen das Philosophische und aus dem Privaten das monumentale Geschichtsbild entwirft.