Diana Iljine

Festival director

Diana.Iljine@Filmfest Muenchen Ohnerotstich

Watching stories and grand performances on the big screen in an auditorium with other people is something I wouldn’t want to do without. I believe that film absolutely needs that setting. This emotional intensity is why I love the cinema! 

I was 18 years old when I sat in the dark with my first boyfriend — very much in love, arm in arm — in a movie theater. We were watching THE STATE OF THINGS (1982) by Wim Wenders. I was overwhelmed. It was truly a unique experience. From then on, I wanted to be a part of the film business.

To this day, cinema is one of the most emotional experiences I can imagine. Watching stories and grand performances on the big screen in an auditorium with other people is something I wouldn’t want to do without. I believe that film absolutely needs that setting. This emotional intensity is why I love the cinema!

While I was a student, I worked on film productions and realized that the inconstant rhythm during the actual production of a film was not right for me. Other people are comfortable with that lifestyle, but I had to find a different path. I became a journalist, then a film program planner. Later I worked in program procurement for a number of years; among other things, I helped to negotiate large packages from American studios for German TV stations. My work often took me to the United States, where I was always impressed by the professionalism with which stories were told and produced.

As time went by, I preferred to become a creative European professional who supports artists and creative minds. This is my vocation and my inspiration, all the more in my position as director of FILMFEST MÜNCHEN since 2011.

Diana Iljine

Festivaldirektorin

Diana.Iljine@Filmfest Muenchen Ohnerotstich

Sich Geschichten und große Schauspielkunst anschauen auf der großen Leinwand, zusammen mit anderen in einem Saal – dem kann ich mich nicht entziehen. Für diese emotionale Intensität liebe ich das Kino!

Ich war 18 Jahre alt, als ich mit meinem ersten Freund – sehr verliebt, Arm in Arm – im Dunkeln im Kino saß. Wir sahen uns damals STAND DER DINGE von Wim Wenders an. Ich war sowas von geflashed, es war wirklich ein einzigartiges Erlebnis. Von da an wollte ich „zum Film“.

Bis heute ist Kino für mich eine der emotionalsten Erfahrungen, die es überhaupt gibt. Sich Geschichten und große Schauspielkunst anschauen auf der großen Leinwand, zusammen mit anderen in einem Saal – dem kann ich mich nicht entziehen und glaube auch, dass es für den Film unbedingt diesen Rahmen braucht. Für diese emotionale Intensität liebe ich das Kino!

Während meines Studiums habe ich bei Filmproduktionen gearbeitet und stellte fest, dass das unstete Leben während der tatsächlichen Produktion eines Filmes nicht das Richtige für mich ist. Anderen Menschen liegt dieser Lebensstil, ich musste einen anderen Weg finden.  Ich habe als Journalistin gearbeitet, dann als Filmprogrammplanerin. Später war ich viele Jahre Programmeinkäuferin und habe unter anderem große Pakete aus den amerikanischen Studios für TV-Sender mitverhandelt. Daher bin ich auch oft in die USA gereist. Mir hat dabei immer imponiert, mit welcher Professionalität dort Geschichten erzählt und produziert werden.

Mit der Zeit bin ich dann lieber eine kreative europäische Managerin geworden, die Künstler:innen und schöpferische Geister unterstützt. Das ist meine Berufung und diese Tätigkeit begeistert mich, seit 2011 auch und vor allem als Leiterin des FILMFEST MÜNCHEN.