Julia Weigl

1 Julia Weigl Credit Maximilian Westphal Portrait (1)

Discovering films, presenting them to Munich audiences for the first time, and offering a platform to filmmakers is a tremendous privilege and a dream come true.

While BAMBI lulled me blissfully to sleep in movie theaters, THE SILENCE OF THE LAMBS captivated me at a young age and kindled a lasting fascination with psychological thrillers. That was certainly not in the spirit of the German ratings board. I have my parents to thank for that!

 

RH0 3447

 

Again and again, I allowed my passion for cinematic storytelling to creep into my everyday life — whether it was my personal life in the movie theaters of the Oberpfalz region, or my study of literature at the University of Munich (LMU), or my training in arts journalism at the University of Television and Film Munich (HFF). So the path to FILMFEST MÜNCHEN was a short one, via the HFF directly to the Filmfest’s press department and editorial office and into the team of curators, where I am now responsible for films from the English-speaking world and Scandinavia as well as for international TV series.

Discovering films, presenting them to Munich audiences for the first time, and offering a platform to filmmakers is a tremendous privilege and a dream come true. When I’m not screening films on small screens or the big screen, I like to sit in the theater, write about it or for it, write articles about TV series and travel, and sit or stand on stage to talk to exciting people about their exciting work. Late in the evening, I like to retreat to the depths of the Web and discuss Britney Spears with family and friends. On that note: #freebritney.

Julia Weigl

Internationales Programm

2022 Julia Weigl

Filme entdecken, sie erstmals dem Münchner Publikum zu präsentieren und den Filmschaffenden eine Plattform zu bieten – das ist ein großes Privileg und ein „dream come true“ für mich.

Während BAMBI mich im Kino selig in den Schlaf wog, fesselte mich DAS SCHWEIGEN DER LÄMMER bereits in jungen Jahren und weckte eine anhaltende Faszination für den psychologischen Thriller –  was sicherlich nicht im Sinne der Kolleg:innen der FSK-Vergabe war. Danke meinen Eltern an dieser Stelle!

 

RH0 3447

 

Immer wieder mogelte ich meine Leidenschaft fürs filmische Erzählen in meinen Alltag – ob im Privaten in den Oberpfälzer Kinosälen meiner Jugend, im Literaturwissenschafts-Studium an der LMU München oder in der Kulturjournalismus-Ausbildung an der HFF München. Da war der Weg zum FILMFEST MÜNCHEN nicht weit – über die HFF direkt in die Filmfest-Presseabteilung und -Redaktion, hinein in das Programmer:innen-Team, in dem ich mich nun um Filme aus dem englischsprachigen Raum, aus Skandinavien sowie um die internationalen Serien kümmere.

Filme entdecken, sie erstmals dem Münchner Publikum zu präsentieren und den Filmschaffenden eine Plattform zu bieten – das ist ein großes Privileg und ein „dream come true“ für mich. Wenn ich keine Filme auf kleinen oder großen Screens sichte, sitze ich gerne im Theater, schreibe darüber oder dafür, verfasse Artikel über Serien und das Reisen, sitze oder stehe als Moderatorin auf Bühnen, um mit spannenden Menschen über ihre spannenden Werke zu sprechen. Spätabends verziehe ich mich dann gerne in die Untiefen des Netzes und debattiere mit Friends&Family über Britney Spears. In diesem Sinne: #freebritney