THE PROMISE
Filmfest 2016

Derek and Nancy Haysom were brutally murdered in their house in Lynchburg, Virginia, on March 30, 1985. Suspicion fell on their daughter Elizabeth and her boyfriend Jens Söring. They flee to Europe, but are caught and extradited to the U.S. Elizabeth is sentenced to 90 years in jail for incitement to murder, Jens Söring to two life sentences. Karin Steinberger, Marcus Vetter and their team spent over three years researching this case, which achieved world-wide notoriety. They uncovered new evidence, including the fact none of the blood samples found at the scene of the crime belonged to Jens Söring. A controversial doc about a great love and perhaps a great injustice, and an American legal system spun out of control.

tags: Documentary, Justice, Love, Guilt, Crime/Murder

With: Jens Söring, Daniel Brühl (Stimme Jens Söring), Imogen Poots (Stimme Elizabeth Haysom), Chuck Reid, Gail Marshall

Credits

Director of Photography: Georg Zengerling

Film Editor: Marcus Vetter

Composer: Jens Ole Huerkamp

Sound: Aljoscha Haupt

Producer: Marcus Vetter

Co-Producer: Louise Rosen, Ulf Meyer

Production Company: Filmperspektive GmbH

Co-Production Company: Louise Rosen Ltd., Addictive Film, SWR, ARTE, BR, DR, BBC, SVT, VPRO

World Sales: Louise Rosen Ltd.

Distributor: Farbfilm Verleih GmbH

Director: Marcus Vetter, Karin Steinberger

biography

Karin Steinberger was born in Gräfelfing in 1967. She majored in Chinese Studies and Comparative Lit at University of Munich, before transferring to the German Journalism Academy in Munich. She began working for Süddeutsche Zeitung newspaper in 1991, for which she became a contributor to the prestigious investigative Page Three in 2011. She worked on doc HUNGER with Marcus Vetter, for which they won the Robert Geissendörfer Prize 2011, and on THE FORECASTER (2015).

Marcus Vetter was born in Stuttgart 1967. He majored in European Business Management and Media Studies at Tübingen University, also interning at Bavaria Film Studios. He went on to work as freelance contributor, producer and editor at SWR in Baden-Baden und Stuttgart, and started shooting his own films in 1999. His TV docs THE TUNNEL (1999), WO DAS GELD WÄCHST (2000) and BROADWAY BRUCHSAL (2001) all won Grimme Prizes. MEIN VATER, DER TÜRKE (2006), about Vetter visiting the father he only met once, when he was seven, won the Prix Europa and the Golden Gate Award. THE HEART OF JENIN (2009), which he shot with Israeli director Leon Geller, won the German Film Prize. Vetter became sponsor of the „Cinema Jenin” project to reopen a defunct movie theater in the Palestinian Territory. THE INTERNATIONAL CRIMINAL COURT (2013, shot with Michele Gentile) is a portrait of the International Criminal Court in Den Haag and its chief prosecutor Luis Moreno-Ocampo. It was followed by THE FORECASTER about U.S. financial investor Martin Arthur Armstrong 2015.

DAS VERSPRECHEN
Filmfest 2016

Am 30. März 1985 werden Derek und Nancy Haysom in ihrem Haus in Lynchburg, Virginia, brutal ermordet. Ihre Tochter Elizabeth und deren deutscher Freund Jens Söring geraten unter Tatverdacht. Das Paar flieht nach Europa, wird aber letztlich an die USA ausgeliefert. Elizabeth wird zu 90 Jahren wegen Anstiftung zum Mord verurteilt, Jens Söring bekommt zweimal lebenslänglich. Mehr als drei Jahre lang recherchierten Karin Steinberger und Marcus Vetter mit ihrem Team diesen Mordfall, der weltweit Aufsehen erregte. Dabei fanden sie neue Beweise, zum Beispiel, dass keine der am Tatort gefundenen Blutspuren Jens Söring zuzurechnen sind. Ein brisanter Dokumentarfilm über eine große Liebe und einen großen Verrat und über das amerikanische Rechtssystem, das sich selbst nicht mehr zu hinterfragen scheint.

tags: Dokumentarfilm, Justiz, Liebe, Schuld, Verbrechen/Mord

Mit: Jens Söring, Daniel Brühl (Stimme Jens Söring), Imogen Poots (Stimme Elizabeth Haysom), Chuck Reid, Gail Marshall

Credits

Kamera: Georg Zengerling

Schnitt: Marcus Vetter

Musik: Jens Ole Huerkamp

Ton: Aljoscha Haupt

Produzent: Marcus Vetter

Koproduzent: Louise Rosen, Ulf Meyer

Produktion (Firma): Filmperspektive GmbH

Koproduktion (Firma): Louise Rosen Ltd., Addictive Film, SWR, ARTE, BR, DR, BBC, SVT, VPRO

Weltvertrieb: Louise Rosen Ltd.

Verleih: Farbfilm Verleih GmbH

Regie: Marcus Vetter, Karin Steinberger

Biografie

Karin Steinberger wurde 1967 in Gräfelfing geboren. Sie studierte Sinologie und Komparatistik an der Ludwig-Maximilian-Universität, wechselte dann auf die Deutsche Journalistenschule in München. Seit 1991 arbeitet sie für die Süddeutsche Zeitung, unter anderem für die Feuilletonbeilage „SZ am Wochenende“. Seit 2011 schreibt sie Reportagen für „Die Seite Drei“. Zusammen mit Marcus Vetter drehte sie den Dokumentarfilm HUNGER, für den beide mit dem Robert-Geissendörfer-Preis 2011 ausgezeichnet wurden, sowie THE FORECASTER (2015).

Marcus Vetter wurde 1967 in Stuttgart geboren. Er studierte European Business Management und Medienwissenschaft/-praxis an der Universität Tübingen. Sein Studium schloss unter anderem ein Volontariat bei der Bavaria Film ein. Danach arbeitete Vetter als freier Redakteur, Autor und Cutter beim SWR in Baden-Baden und Stuttgart und verwirklichte ab 1997 als Regisseur und Produzent eigene Filme. Für seinen TV-Dokumentarfilm DER TUNNEL (1999) gewann er den Grimme-Preis. Weitere Auszeichnungen folgten: WO DAS GELD WÄCHST (2000) und BROADWAY BRUCHSAL (2001) wurden ebenfalls mit Grimme-Preisen ausgezeichnet. Für den Dokumentarfilm MEIN VATER, DER TÜRKE (2006), in dem Vetter seinen Vater aufsucht, den er nur einmal, im Alter von sieben Jahren, begegnete, erhielt er den Prix Europa und den Golden Gate Award. DAS HERZ VON JENIN (2009), gemeinsam mit dem israelischen Regisseur Leon Geller gedreht, wurde mit dem Deutschen Filmpreis ausgezeichnet. Im Gefolge dieses Films war Vetter Mitinitiator eines Projekts im Westjordanland, bei dem ein verfallenes Kino wiederaufgebaut und als kulturelles Zentrum eingerichtet wurde. THE INTERNATIONAL CRIMINAL COURT (2013, gedreht mit Michele Gentile) porträtierte den Internationalen Strafgerichtshof in Den Haag und dessen Chefankläger Luis Moreno-Ocampo. Es folgte 2015 THE FORECASTER über den amerikanischen Finanzmanager Martin Arthur Armstrong.