POLINA
Filmfest 2017

An autobiographic coming-of-age film by dancer, choreographer and filmmaker Angelin Preljocaj: Young Russian ballerina Polina is trained according to the strict rules of the Russian ballet, making it all the way to the Bolshoi Theater. Fighting against enormous resistance and attracted by the endless freedom and possibilities, she turns to modern dance. POLINA is not just a moving dance film, but an allegory on liberation.

tags: Youth/Coming of Age, Art, Music, Feature film, Dance

Cast: Anastasia Shevtsova, Veronika Zhovnytska, Juliette Binoche, Aleksey Guskov, Niels Schneider

Credits

Screenplay: Valérie Müller

Original Material: Bastien Vivès

Director of Photography: Georges Lechaptois

Film Editor: Fabrice Rouaud, Guillaume Saignol

Composer: 79D

Production Designer: Toma Baqueni

Costume Design: Laure Villemer

Sound: Dana Farzanehpour

Producer: Didier Creste, Maxim Ajjawi, Gaëlle Bayssière

Production Company: TF1 International

Director: Valérie Müller, Angelin Preljocaj

biography

Valérie Müller (first photo) is a screenwriter, director and producer. She studied film history and started her professional career as an associate director and assistant producer. After directing the shorts LA SURFACE DE RÉPARATION (1998) and LES HOMMES S’EN SOUVIENDRONT (2006), she made her feature debut LE MONDE DE FRED in 2014.


Angelin Preljocaj (second photo) was born in the Paris suburbs in 1957 to Albanian parents. He studied classical ballet, then German expressionist dance under Karin Waehner, and with Merce Cunningham in New York City. He joined the Compagnie Quentin Rouillier in Caen and the Centre National de Danse Contemporaine d‘Angers before founding his own dance company in Champigny/Marne, with which he stage an homage to the Ballets Russes at the Palais Garnier. His choreography ”Le Parc“ for the Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris won the Benois de la Danse award. He moved to Aix-en-Provence with his troupe in 1996 and choreographed “La Stravaganza“ for Peter Martins at the New York City Ballet 1997. ”Annonciation“ won a Bessie Award 1997. Preljocaj was named head of the Centre Chorégraphique National in Aix-en-Provence in 2006. His films as director include ELDORADO (2008) and BLANCHE NEIGE (2009).

POLINA, DANSER SA VIE
Filmfest 2017

Eine autobiographisch gefärbte Coming-of-Age-Geschichte von Tänzer, Choreograph und Filmemacher Angelin Preljocaj: Die junge Russin Polina wird nach den strengen Regeln des klassischen Balletts ausgebildet und schafft es bis ans prestigeträchtige Bolschoi-Theater. Gegen enorme Widerstände und angezogen von den freien Ausdrucksformen wendet sie sich dem modernen Tanz zu. POLINA ist nicht nur eine Allegorie auf die Emanzipation von festgeschriebenen Regeln, sondern auch ein bewegender Film.

tags: Jugend/Coming of Age, Kunst, Musik, Spielfilm, Tanz

Darsteller: Anastasia Shevtsova, Veronika Zhovnytska, Juliette Binoche, Aleksey Guskov, Niels Schneider

Credits

Drehbuch: Valérie Müller

Originalvorlage: Bastien Vivès

Kamera: Georges Lechaptois

Schnitt: Fabrice Rouaud, Guillaume Saignol

Musik: 79D

Produktionsdesign: Toma Baqueni

Kostüme: Laure Villemer

Ton: Dana Farzanehpour

Produzent: Didier Creste, Maxim Ajjawi, Gaëlle Bayssière

Produktion (Firma): TF1 International

Regie: Valérie Müller, Angelin Preljocaj

Biografie

Valérie Müller (oben) studierte Filmgeschichte und begann parallel als Produktions- und Regieassistentin zu arbeiten. Heute ist sie Drehbuchautorin, Regisseurin und Produzentin. Nach den zwei Kurzfilmen LA SURFACE DE RÉPARATION (1998) und LES HOMMES S’EN SOUVIENDRONT (2006) folgte 2014 ihr Langfilmdebüt mit LE MONDE DE FRED.


Angelin Preljocaj (unten) wurde 1957 in den Banlieues von Paris als Kind albanischer Eltern geboren. Er studierte zunächst klassischen Tanz, bevor er sich dem deutschen Ausdruckstanz zuwandte und in New York Kurse bei Merce Cunningham besuchte. Als Tänzer arbeitete er an der Compagnie Quentin Rouillier in Caen und am Centre National de Danse Contemporaine d‘Angers. 1984 gründete Preljocaj seine eigene Compagnie, mit der er sich 1996 in Aix-en-Provence niederließ, wo er 2006 Direktor des neu erbauten Centre Chorégraphique National wurde. Preljocaj hat mit so unterschiedlichen Künstlern wie Enki Bilal, den Musikern der Gruppe „Air“, Karlheinz Stockhausen und Jean Paul Gaultier gearbeitet. Zu seinen Regiearbeiten zählen ELDORADO (2008) und BLANCHE NEIGE (2009).