SECRET IN THE MOUNTAIN

German Age Rating

Watch Trailer

The last days of World War II: Even as the Allies close in, the Nazi regime is still in control of Altaussee. This mountain village is where art treasures are to be stored until they can be displayed in the „Führermuseum“. Soldiers stand guard as miners carry valuable paintings and sculptures, all of them looted, into a salt mine. Among these miners is Josef Rottenbacher, who is silently hoping for an end to the war. He’s always tried to stay out of things - unlike his best friend, Franz Mitterjäger, and Franz’s wife, Elsa, who sneak supplies to partisans and deserters hiding in the mountains. In spite of all precautions, Franz attracts the attention of the Gestapo. Josef warns him, but Franz is shot and killed while attempting to escape. The Nazis refuse to allow him a funeral. Finally, Josef takes a stand when he and Elsa get the corpse and more and more villagers join in, thus ensuring Franz a proper burial. Shortly before the German surrender, Gauleiter Eigruber orders the detonation of the salt mine: better to destroy the works of art than to have them fall into the hands of the enemy. But the miners resist - led by Josef und supported by Dr. Ernst Kaltenbrunner, the local head of the Gestapo. Bravely, the miners and the partisans confront the detonation crew to prevent the destruction of their mine and the art it contains.

tags: History, War, Crisis/Revolution, Politics, Feature film

Cast: Fritz Karl, Brigitte Hobmeier, Harald Windisch, Verena Altenberger, Norman Hacker, Philipp Hochmair, Oliver Masucci, Maresi Riegner, Gerhard Liebmann, , Aaron Friesz, Francis Fulton-Smith, Rainer Wöss

Credits

Screenplay: Gabriela Zerhau

Original Material: Gabriela Zerhau

Director of Photography: Carsten Thiele

Film Editor: Anke Berthold

Composer: Dominik Giesriegel

Production Designer: Bertram Reiter

Costume Design: Monika Hinz

Sound: Thomas Szabolcs

Producer: Kirsten Hager, Anja Föringer

Co-Producer: Thomas Hroch, Gerald Podgornig

Production Company: Hager Moss Film GmbH

Co-Production Company: Mona Film Produktion GmbH

Director: Gabriela Zerhau

Editor: Pit Rampelt (ZDF)

TV channel: ZDF/arte

biography

Gabriela Zerhau was born in Graz, Austria, in 1955. In 1980, after studying German literature and theater in Munich, she began training as an assistant director on various motion picture and television productions. In 1983 she made the documentary PETER ROSEGGER, and in 1984 her first feature film, TAPETENWECHSEL. The television series DIE HAUSMEISTERIN (1986), for which she made six episodes, received the Adolf Grimme Award, the Telestar, and the Bavarian Television Award. Zerhau wrote and directed episodes of the series DAS NEST (1989), for which she and Vivian Naefe received the Starlight Award for best early-evening series. Her TV movie DER NEFFE received the Telestar in 1997. In the years that followed, she directed such TV movies as AUCH MÄNNER BRAUCHEN LIEBE (1998), LIEBST DU MICH? (2000), AUSGERECHNET WEIHNACHTEN (2005), and LÜG WEITER, LIEBLING (2010, with Hannelore Elsner and Götz George). NACHT DER ANGST (2015), a TV movie for which she wrote the screenplay, received the Audience Award at the Biberacher Filmfestspiele; lead actress Nina Kunzendorf received the Bavarian Film Award for her performance. Zerhau regularly works as a script consultant and was on the Telestar jury several times. EIN DORF WEHRT SICH (2018) is the latest film she's developed and written herself.

Screenings

Saturday, 6/29/2019, 8:30 PM (107 Min.)
Rio 1

Q&A after the film

Tuesday, 7/2/2019, 10:00 AM (107 Min.)
HFF AudimaxX

Q&A after the film

EIN DORF WEHRT SICH

Altersfreigabe

Die letzten Tage des Zweiten Weltkriegs: Während die Alliierten näher rücken, herrscht in Altaussee immer noch das Nazi-Regime. Im dortigen Salzbergwerk sollen die Kunstschätze für das spätere „Führermuseum“ gelagert werden. Bewacht von Soldaten schleppen Bergleute kostbare Gemälde und Skulpturen, allesamt Raubkunst, in den Stollen. Unter ihnen: Josef Rottenbacher, der seit jeher versucht hat, sich aus allem rauszuhalten, und still auf das Ende des Krieges hofft - im Gegensatz zu seinem besten Freund Franz Mitterjäger und dessen Frau Elsa. Die beiden versorgen heimlich Partisanen und Deserteure im Gebirge. Trotz aller Vorsicht gerät Franz ins Visier der Gestapo. Auch wenn Josef seinen Freund warnen konnte, wird Franz dennoch auf der Flucht erschossen. Die Nazis verweigern ihm daraufhin das Begräbnis. Endlich zeigt Josef Haltung: Zusammen mit Elsa holt er die Leiche, immer mehr Dorfbewohner schließen sich an, um Franz ein würdiges Begräbnis zu verschaffen. Kurz vor der Kapitulation ordnet Gauleiter Eigruber die Sprengung der Salzmine an - lieber die Kunstwerke vernichten als dem Feind überlassen. Doch die Bergleute leisten Widerstand - angeführt von Josef und unterstützt von Gestapo-Chef Dr. Ernst Kaltenbrunner. Mutig stellen sich die Bergmänner mit den Partisanen dem Sprengkommando entgegen, um die Zerstörung ihrer Mine und der unersetzbaren Kunst darin zu verhindern.

tags: Geschichte, Krieg, Krise/Revolution, Politik, Spielfilm

Darsteller: Fritz Karl, Brigitte Hobmeier, Harald Windisch, Verena Altenberger, Norman Hacker, Philipp Hochmair, Oliver Masucci, Maresi Riegner, Gerhard Liebmann, , Aaron Friesz, Francis Fulton-Smith, Rainer Wöss

Credits

Drehbuch: Gabriela Zerhau

Originalvorlage: Gabriela Zerhau

Kamera: Carsten Thiele

Schnitt: Anke Berthold

Musik: Dominik Giesriegel

Produktionsdesign: Bertram Reiter

Kostüme: Monika Hinz

Ton: Thomas Szabolcs

Produzent: Kirsten Hager, Anja Föringer

Koproduzent: Thomas Hroch, Gerald Podgornig

Produktion (Firma): Hager Moss Film GmbH

Koproduktion (Firma): Mona Film Produktion GmbH

Regie: Gabriela Zerhau

Redakteur: Pit Rampelt (ZDF)

TV-Sender: ZDF/arte, ORF

Biografie

Gabriela Zerhau wurde 1955 in Graz geboren. Nachdem sie in München Germanistik und Theaterwissenschaften studiert hatte, begann 1980 ihre Ausbildung als Regieassistentin bei verschiedenen Film- und Fernsehproduktionen. 1983 drehte sie die Dokumentation PETER ROSEGGER, 1984 ihren ersten Spielfilm TAPETENWECHSEL. Die TV-Serie DIE HAUSMEISTERIN (1986), für die sie sechs Folgen drehte, wurde mit dem Adolf-Grimme-Preis, einem Telestar und einem Bayerischen Fernsehpreis ausgezeichnet. Sie wirkte als Autorin und Regisseurin an DAS NEST (1989) mit und erhielt dafür zusammen mit Vivian Naefe den Starlight-Preis für die beste Vorabendserie. Für den Fernsehfilm DER NEFFE erhielt sie 1997 den Telestar. In den folgenden Jahren inszenierte sie Fernsehfilme wie AUCH MÄNNER BRAUCHEN LIEBE (1998), LIEBST DU MICH? (2000), AUSGERECHNET WEIHNACHTEN (2005) oder LÜG WEITER, LIEBLING (2010, mit Hannelore Elsner und Götz George). Ihr Fernsehfilm NACHT DER ANGST (2015) wurde auf den Biberacher Filmfestspielen mit dem Publikumspreis ausgezeichnet, Hauptdarstellerin Nina Kunzendorf erhielt für ihre schauspielerische Leistung den Bayerischen Filmpreis. Zerhau arbeitet regelmäßig als Script Consultant und war mehrfach in der Jury für den Telestar. EIN DORF WEHRT SICH (2018) ist ihr jüngster selbst entwickelter und geschriebener Spielfilm.

Vorstellungen

Samstag, 29.06.2019, 20:30 Uhr (107 Min.)
Rio 1
Dienstag, 02.07.2019, 10:00 Uhr (107 Min.)
HFF AudimaxX