BEST OF FILMSCHOOLFEST

German Age Rating

Film Website

To Facebook

Every fall emerging filmmakers from all over the world and their chosen films are invited to the FILMSCHOOLFEST MUNICH, the renowned festival for international filmschools. For one week in November, short films by promising talents will be shown at the Filmmuseum in Munich, often in presence of their directors. On Thursday, July 4, 6.30 PM BEST OF FILMSCHOOLFEST presents several prize winners and other outstanding titles of last year`s edition of FILMSCHOOLFEST MUNICH 2018 at the Rio 2.

Bernhard Wenger graduated from the Film Academy Vienna with EXCUSE ME, I’M LOOKING FOR THE PING-PONG ROOM AND MY GIRLFRIEND, a hilarious comedy about separation, well-being, loneliness, and – of course – ping-pong. Simon’s girlfriend just left him, which makes him really sad. So sad, that he can’t stop crying: SIMON CRIES by Sergio Guataquira Sarmiento, who is a student at the Belgian Instituts des Arts de Diffusion, is not only sad, but uses funny elements as well. In A WALK, Elke Vanoost, a student at the LUCA School of Arts in Brussels, talks about an unexpected encounter in the heart of Brussels. SIREN by Zara Dwinger, a student at the Netherlands Film Academy, is a dramatic short film about the emotional chaos of a pubescent teenage boy. The award winning animation film FACING IT by Sam Gainsborough talks about a young man, who finally confronts his fears – and his parents – at a pub. And Vincent Förster, who learnt his craft in Edinburgh, encourages his cheerful grandparents to reflect about jazz in the Third Reich and the German Democratic Republic.

Some of the directors will be present during the short film program to answer the questions of the audience. After the presentation at Rio 2, the PIXEL LOUNGE („PiXEL – Raum für Medien, Kultur und Partizipation“, Rosenheimer Str. 5, close to the Rio cinemas) invites to continue the discussion with the attending filmmakers.

tags: Short film

Screenings

Thursday, 7/4/2019, 6:30 PM (115 Min.)
Rio 2

Q&A after the film

BEST OF FILMSCHOOLFEST

Jeden Herbst werden junge Nachwuchsregisseur*innen aus aller Welt mit ihren ausgewählten Werken zum FILMSCHOOLFEST MUNICH, dem international renommierten Festival für Filmhochschulen, eingeladen. Im Filmmuseum sind dann für eine Woche im November die Kurzfilme der vielversprechenden Talente zu sehen, meist in Anwesenheit der Regisseur*innen. In dem Programm BEST OF FILMSCHOOLFEST zeigen wir Ihnen am Donnerstag, den 4.7., um 18.30 Uhr im Rio 2 einige Preisträgerfilme sowie andere herausragende Beiträge des FILMSCHOOLFEST MUNICH 2018.

Bernhard Wenger, Absolvent der Filmakademie Wien, hat mit seinem Abschlussfilm ENTSCHULDIGUNG, ICH SUCHE DEN TISCHTENNISRAUM UND MEINE FREUNDIN eine herrliche Komödie über Trennung, Wellness, Einsamkeit und, natürlich, Ping-Pong gedreht. Dass ihn seine Freundin verlassen hat – darüber ist auch Simon traurig und zwar so traurig, dass er nicht mehr aufhört zu weinen: SIMON CRIES von Sergio Guataquira Sarmiento, Student des belgischen Instituts des Arts de Diffusion, schlägt dabei ebenfalls einen humoristischen Ton an. Von einer Zufallsbekanntschaft früh am Morgen in der Innenstadt von Brüssel erzählt Elke Vanoost, Studentin der LUCA School of Arts in Brüssel, in A WALK, während Zara Dwinger, Studentin der Netherlands Film Academy, mit SIREN einen dramatischen Kurzfilm über die Gefühlsverwirrungen eines pubertierenden Jungen gedreht hat. Der preisgekrönte Animationsfilm FACING IT von Sam Gainsborough handelt von einem jungen Mann, der sich in einem Pub seinen Ängsten (und seinen Eltern) endlich stellt. Und Vincent Förster, der in Edinburgh sein Filmhandwerk gelernt hat, lässt seine eigenen Großeltern vor der Kamera gut gelaunt über den Jazz in Zeiten des Dritten Reichs und der DDR philosophieren.

Zu diesem Kurzfilmprogramm werden auch einige der Regisseur*innen anwesend sein und sich den Fragen des Publikums zu ihren Werken stellen. Nach der Vorstellung im Rio 2 lädt zudem die PIXEL LOUNGE im „PiXEL – Raum für Medien, Kultur und Partizipation“ (in der Rosenheimer Str. 5, ganz in der Nähe des Rio-Kinos) zum weiteren Plausch mit einigen der anwesenden Filmemacher*innen ein.

tags: Kurzfilm

Vorstellungen

Donnerstag, 04.07.2019, 18:30 Uhr (115 Min.)
Rio 2

Q&A nach dem Film