LATE NIGHT

Emma Thompson slips into the role of tough talk show host Katherine. For more than 30 years, she has been the reigning queen of the late night show TONIGHT WITH KATHERINE NEWBURY – until the ratings drop and Katherine is about to be replaced by a younger, male mainstream comedian. Molly (Mindy Kaling) is a comedy newby. But she is young and has a multicultural background and is the contemporary and fresh voice which can save Katherine’s image as a shrewd comedian.
LATE NIGHT is an unusual fresh and light-hearted comedy, which reverses clichés and opens up new perspectives. This is the achievement of the furious three women behind this film: screenwriter/actress Mindy Kaling, director Nisha Ganatra and actress Emma Thompson.

Also in this Program:
THE AWARD CEREMONY

tags: Women, Comedy, Feature film

Cast: Emma Thompson, Mindy Kaling, John Lithgow, Reid Scott, Amy Ryan

Credits

Screenplay: Mindy Kaling

Original Material: Mindy Kaling

Director of Photography: Matthew Clarke

Film Editor: Eleanor Infante, David Rogers

Composer: Lesley Barber

Production Designer: Elizabeth J. Jones

Costume Design: Mitchell Travers

Sound: Allison Jackson

Producer: Mindy Kaling, Howard Klein, Jillian Apfelbaum, Ben Browning

Co-Producer: Erika Hampson

Production Company: FilmNation Entertainment

Co-Production Company: 30WEST, Kaling International, 3 Arts Entertainment

Distributor: Entertainment One Germany GmbH

Director: Nisha Ganatra

biography

Nisha Ganatra was born in Vancouver in 1974. Since her work on the successful Amazon series TRANSPARENT in 2014, she has established herself as a popular comedy expert. In 2015, this series was awarded a Golden Globe. The team as well as the advisory producer Nisha Ganatra were also nominated for an Emmy in the category “Outstanding Comedy Series”. In the same year, director Ganatra collaborated with Mindy Kaling, who also wrote the screenplay for LATE NIGHT, for the first time on THE MINDY PROJECT. Ganatra graduated from the renowned New York University Film School. With CHUTNEY POPCORN, she presented her directorial debut in 1999, in which she also played one of the parts. This comedy became on of the festival favorites and won several awards, such as the audience awards at L.A. Outfest, Newport International Film Festival, Paris International Lesbian and Feminist Film Festival as well as at the San Francisco International Lesbian & Gay Film Festival. Ganatra’s TV drama COSMOPOLITAN (2003) celebrated its premiere at South by Southwest Festival. She also directed several episodes for series like MR. ROBOT, SHAMELESS, GIRLS, BROOKLYN NINE-NINE or THE LAST MAN ON EARTH. As the co-producer and director of the first season of BETTER THINGS in 2016, she played a major role in the success of this dark-humored comedy. She is also a member of the bord of the organization Women in Film.

Screenings

Thursday, 7/4/2019, 10:00 AM (102 Min.)
Atelier 1
Select Press
Saturday, 7/6/2019, 6:00 PM (162 Min.)
Gasteig Carl-Orff-Saal

LATE NIGHT - DIE SHOW IHRES LEBENS

Emma Thompson schlüpft in die Rolle der taffen Talkshow-Moderatorin Katherine. Mehr als 30 Jahre lang regiert sie mit der Late Night Show TONIGHT WITH KATHERINE NEWBURY das nächtliche US-Fernsehprogramm, bis die Quoten auf einmal einbrechen und sie durch einen jüngeren, massentauglicheren männlichen Comedian ersetzt werden soll. Die unerfahrene Quereinsteigerin Molly mit indischen Wurzeln, gespielt von Mindy Kaling, soll als Autorin Katherines Image als scharfsinnige weibliche Comedian polieren.
LATE NIGHT – DIE SHOW IHRES LEBENS ist eine ungewohnt frische und leichtlebige Komödie, in der Klischees umgekehrt und neue Perspektiven eröffnet werden, was vor allem auch an dem furiosen Frauendreiergespann liegt, das diesen Film umgesetzt hat: Drehbuchautorin/Darstellerin Mindy Kaling, Regisseurin Nisha Ganatra und Schauspielerin Emma Thompson.

Außerdem in diesem Programm:
THE AWARD CEREMONY

tags: Frauen, Komödie, Spielfilm

Darsteller: Emma Thompson, Mindy Kaling, John Lithgow, Reid Scott, Amy Ryan

Credits

Drehbuch: Mindy Kaling

Originalvorlage: Mindy Kaling

Kamera: Matthew Clarke

Schnitt: Eleanor Infante, David Rogers

Musik: Lesley Barber

Produktionsdesign: Elizabeth J. Jones

Kostüme: Mitchell Travers

Ton: Allison Jackson

Produzent: Mindy Kaling, Howard Klein, Jillian Apfelbaum, Ben Browning

Koproduzent: Erika Hampson

Produktion (Firma): FilmNation Entertainment

Koproduktion (Firma): 30WEST, Kaling International, 3 Arts Entertainment

Verleih: Entertainment One Germany GmbH

Regie: Nisha Ganatra

Biografie

Nisha Ganatra, 1974 in Vancouver geboren, etablierte sich 2014 mit der ersten Staffel der preisgekrönten Amazon-Serie TRANSPARENT als gefragte Comedy-Spezialistin. 2015 wurde die Serie mit dem Golden Globe prämiert, das Team um die beratende Produzentin Nisha Ganatra erhielt zudem eine Emmy-Nominierung in der Kategorie „Outstanding Comedy Series“. Im selben Jahr arbeitete die Regisseurin bei THE MINDY PROJECT erstmals mit Mindy Kaling zusammen, die für LATE NIGHT – DIE SHOW IHRES LEBENS das Drehbuch verfasste. Ganatra absolvierte die renommierte New York University Film School und legte 1999 ihr Regiedebüt CHUTNEY POPCORN vor, in dem sie auch selbst eine Hauptrolle übernahm. Die Komödie avancierte zum Festival-Liebling und brachte Ganatra viele Auszeichnungen ein, u. a. die Publikumspreise beim L.A. Outfest, Newport International Film Festival, Paris International Lesbian and Feminist Film Festival sowie San Francisco International Lesbian & Gay Film Festival. Ihr TV-Drama COSMOPOLITAN (2003) wurde beim South by Southwest Festival uraufgeführt. Ganatra inszenierte auch einzelne Episoden für Serien wie etwa MR. ROBOT, SHAMELESS, GIRLS, BROOKLYN NINE-NINE oder THE LAST MAN ON EARTH. Als Co-Produzentin und Regisseurin der ersten Staffel trug sie 2016 außerdem entscheidend zum Erfolg der Serie BETTER THINGS bei. Außerdem sitzt Nisha Ganatra im Vorstand der Organisation Women in Film.

Vorstellungen

Donnerstag, 04.07.2019, 10:00 Uhr (102 Min.)
Atelier 1
Merken Presse
Samstag, 06.07.2019, 18:00 Uhr (162 Min.)
Gasteig Carl-Orff-Saal