TOKYO!

German Age Rating

Question: What do you get when you ask three masters of non-mainstream cinema to make a movie about Tokyo? Answer: A film that defies categorization. Notorious boundary pusher Bong Joon Ho has a hermit break free of the life he knows. Perpetual dreamer Michel Gondry deconstructs a fresh relationship in a fantastical way. And Leos Carax provokes the residents of Tokyo with a grotesque figure who breaks more taboos than any language on earth can handle. Three directors, three visions of a cosmopolitan city coming apart at the seams and the people who live in it, searching for the last bit of meaning among chairs, stacks of pizzas, and earthquakes.

tags: Loneliness, Far East, Humor, Feature film, Urban

Cast: Teruyuki Kagawa, Ayako Fujitani, Ryo Kase, Denis Levant, Jean-François Balmer

Credits

Screenplay: Bong Joon Ho, Gabrielle Bell, Leos Carax, Michel Gondry

Director of Photography: Jun Fukumoto, Caroline Champetier, Masami Inomoto

Film Editor: Nelly Quettier

Composer: Etienne Charry

Production Designer: Toshihiro Isomi, Mitsuo Harada, Yuji Hayashida

Producer: Michiko Yoshitake, Anne Pernod-Sawada, Masa Sawada

Production Company: Comme des Cinemas

World Sales: Wild Bunch International Sales

Director: Bong Joon Ho, Michel Gondry, Leos Carax

biography

Born in Daegu, South Korea, in 1969, Bong Joon Ho (1st photo) studied psychology at Yonsei University in Seoul before completing a two-year program at the Korean Academy of Film Arts. His first feature film, BARKING DOGS NEVER BITE, about a university lecturer who kidnaps undesirable dogs, was critically acclaimed and shown at FILMFEST MÜNCHEN in 2001. His breakthrough came with his second film, MEMORIES OF MURDER (2003), about a real series of murders. The satirical monster movie THE HOST (2006) and the science-fiction film SNOWPIERCER (2013) with its international cast drew more than nine million moviegoers each in South Korea, placing them both among the 20 most successful films of all time in that country. Bong's latest film, PARASITE (2019), which is showing this year in the CineMasters section at FILMFEST MÜNCHEN, was awarded the Golden Palm at the Cannes Film Festival.

Leos Carax (2nd photo) was born Alexandre Oscar Dupont in Suresnes, France, in 1960. He was a film critic before he started making films under the name Leos Carax — an anagram of his names Alex and Oscar. His first feature film was the romantic drama BOY MEETS GIRL (1984). Even then, Denis Lavant was in the lead role, as he would be many times since, including in the thriller MAUVAIS SANG (1986), the drama THE LOVERS ON THE BRIDGE (1991), and HOLY MOTORS (FILMFEST MÜNCHEN 2012), a surreal homage to cinema.

Michel Gondry (3rd photo) was born in Versailles, France, in 1963. He first made a name for himself with music videos for a range of artists, including eight for Icelandic singer Björk. His first feature film, HUMAN NATURE (FILMFEST MÜNCHEN 2002), which is set at a police station, in Congress, and in the hereafter, demonstrated his cinematic idiosyncrasy. His breakthrough came with ETERNAL SUNSHINE OF THE SPOTLESS MIND (2004), about a couple that want to erase their memories of each other after they break up; like his first film, the screenplay to this one was written by Charlie Kaufman. Gondry's later works include the playfully surreal tragicomedy THE SCIENCE OF SLEEP (2006) and MOOD INDIGO (2013) as well as the coming-of-age comedy MICROBE & GASOLINE (2015).

Screenings

Saturday, 7/6/2019, 5:30 PM (110 Min.)
Filmmuseum

TOKYO!

Altersfreigabe

Was passiert, wenn sich drei Meister des etwas anderen Kinos der widersprüchlichen Mega-Metropole Tokio annehmen? Antwort: ein Film, der in keine Schublade passt. Der notorische Grenzgänger Bong Joon Ho lässt einen Einsiedler aus dem gewohnten Leben ausbrechen. Allzeiträumer Michel Gondry dekonstruiert auf eine fantastische Weise eine noch junge Beziehung. Und Leos Carax fordert nicht nur die Einwohner Tokios mit einer grotesken Figur heraus, für deren Tabubrüche keine Sprache dieser Erde ausreicht. Drei Regisseure und drei Visionen einer Weltstadt, die aus den Fugen gerät, und der in ihr lebenden Menschen, die zwischen Stühlen, Pizzastapeln und Erdbeben nach dem letzten bisschen Sinn suchen.

tags: Einsamkeit, Fernost, Humor, Spielfilm, Stadt

Darsteller: Teruyuki Kagawa, Ayako Fujitani, Ryo Kase, Denis Levant, Jean-François Balmer

Credits

Drehbuch: Bong Joon Ho, Gabrielle Bell, Leos Carax, Michel Gondry

Kamera: Jun Fukumoto, Caroline Champetier, Masami Inomoto

Schnitt: Nelly Quettier

Musik: Etienne Charry

Produktionsdesign: Toshihiro Isomi, Mitsuo Harada, Yuji Hayashida

Produzent: Michiko Yoshitake, Anne Pernod-Sawada, Masa Sawada

Produktion (Firma): Comme des Cinemas

Weltvertrieb: Wild Bunch International Sales

Regie: Bong Joon Ho, Michel Gondry, Leos Carax

Biografie

Bong Joon Ho (1. Foto) wurde 1969 in Daegu, Südkorea, geboren. Er studierte zunächst Soziologie an der Yonsei University in Seoul, bevor er ein zweijähriges Programm an der Korean Academy of Film Arts absolvierte. Schon sein erster Spielfilm HUNDE, DIE BELLEN, BEISSEN NICHT über einen Universitätsdozenten, der unliebsame Hunde entführt, wurde positiv von Kritikern aufgenommen und lief im Jahr 2001 auf dem FILMFEST MÜNCHEN. Seinen Durchbruch schaffte er mit seinem zweiten Film MEMORIES OF MURDER (2003) über eine reale Mordserie. Der satirische Monsterfilm THE HOST (2006) und der international besetzte Science-Fiction-Film SNOWPIERCER (2013) zählen mit jeweils mehr als neun Millionen Besuchern in Südkorea zu den 20 erfolgreichsten Filmen aller Zeiten. Sein neuester Film PARASITE (2019), der beim diesjährigen FILMFEST MÜNCHEN in der Reihe CineMasters läuft, gewann die Goldene Palme bei den Filmfestspielen von Cannes.

Leos Carax (2. Foto) wurde 1960 in Suresnes, Frankreich, mit bürgerlichem Namen Alexandre Oscar Dupont geboren. Zunächst arbeitete er als Filmkritiker, bevor er unter dem Namen Leos Carax – ein Anagramm seines Vornamens Alex sowie Oscar – auch eigene Filme drehte. Sein Spielfilmdebüt gab er mit dem Liebesdrama BOY MEETS GIRL (1984). Schon damals spielte Denis Lavant die Hauptrolle, mit dem er anschließend noch viele Male zusammenarbeitete, darunter in dem Thriller DIE NACHT IST JUNG (1986), dem Drama DIE LIEBENDEN VON PONT-NEUF (1991) und der surrealen Kinohommage HOLY MOTORS (FILMFEST MÜNCHEN 2012).

Michel Gondry (3. Foto) wurde 1963 in Versailles, Frankreich, geboren. Einen Namen machte er sich zunächst mit Musikvideos für die unterschiedlichsten Künstler, darunter acht für die isländische Sängerin Björk. Schon mit seinem Spielfilmdebüt HUMAN NATURE – DIE KRÖNUNG DER SCHÖPFUNG (FILMFEST MÜNCHEN 2002), das abwechselnd auf der Polizei, im Kongress und im Jenseits spielt, bewies er filmischen Eigensinn. Der große Durchbruch gelang ihm mit VERGISS MEIN NICHT! (2004), das wie sein erster Film von Charlie Kaufman geschrieben wurde und von einem Paar handelt, das nach der Trennung die Erinnerungen aneinander auslöschen will. Zu seinen späteren Werken zählen die verspielt-surrealen Tragikomödien SCIENCE OF SLEEP – ANLEITUNG ZUM TRÄUMEN (2006) und DER SCHAUM DER TAGE (2013) sowie die Coming-of-Age-Komödie MIKRO & SPRIT (2015).

Vorstellungen

Samstag, 06.07.2019, 17:30 Uhr (110 Min.)
Filmmuseum