CORIOLANUS
Filmfest 2019

German Age Rating

For his first film as director, Ralph Fiennes chose one of Shakespeare's later plays, whose title character he played on stage in 2000. Roman General Caius Martius stands out not only for his unwavering strength in combat, but also for his pride and his lack of manners, which always get in his way. Hated by the Roman people because he's ordered that the grain supplies be kept under lock and key, the military commander leads his army against the enemies of Rome, the Volsci, conquering their city of Corioli. That earns him the name Coriolanus as well as a consulship in the Roman senate.
As the leader behind the camera, Fiennes assembled an impressive army of experienced professionals, including Barry Ackroyd, cinematographer for the Iraq War drama THE HURT LOCKER, and John Logan, scriptwriter for Ridley Scott's GLADIATOR, for this project. Fiennes and Logan agreed in advance to leave Shakespeare's language unchanged. This way, the film is uncomfortably situated between the ages and is centered around a military leader with integrity but who is also driven by a lust for power. The tribunes manipulate the fickle population, while Coriolanus is unable to contain his anger and desperation. He is an outsider embattled by even his own mother (Vanessa Redgrave) and his own son. Only his wife (Jessica Chastain) continues to stand by him.
In the few moments he spends with his family, Fiennes' voice becomes gentle; the general longs for calm in the face of his own driven personality, and yet allows himself to be provoked again and again until he's exiled and teaming up with his archenemy, the commander of the army of the Volsci. Gerald Butler plays the fierce counterpart to, and also the homoerotically charged mirror image of, Fiennes' Coriolanus. Loneliness is what the two leaders have in common. History, however, has its own particular tragic drive.

tags: History, Society, War, Politics, Feature film

Cast: Ralph Fiennes, Gerard Butler, Vanessa Redgrave, Brian Cox, Jessica Chastain

Credits

Screenplay: John Logan

Original Material: William Shakespeare

Director of Photography: Barry Ackroyd

Film Editor: Nicolas Gaster

Composer: Ilan Eshkeri

Production Designer: Ricky Eyres

Costume Design: Bojana Nikitovic

Sound: Ray Beckett

Producer: Gabrielle Tana, Julia Taylor-Stanley, Colin Vaines, Ralph Fiennes, John Logan

Co-Producer: Kevan Van Thompson

Production Company: Hermetof Pictures, Magna Films, Icon Entertainment International

Director: Ralph Fiennes

biography

Ralph Fiennes was born in Ipswich, England, in 1962. He learned to act at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art in London. In 1987, he became a member of the Royal National Theatre, and a short time later, a member of the Royal Shakespeare Company. His cinema debut came in WUTHERING HEIGHTS (1992). A year later, his portrayal of a Nazi officer in Steven Spielberg's SCHINDLER'S LIST (1993) earned him an Oscar nomination and numerous offers of roles. Fiennes played the leading role in Robert Redford's QUIZ SHOW (1994) and was again nominated for an Oscar for his performance in THE ENGLISH PATIENT (1996). His career on the stage continued all the while; his performance as Hamlet in a Broadway production in 1995 resulted in a nomination for a Tony Award. In motion pictures, he portrayed a writer in Neil Jordan's THE END OF THE AFFAIR (1999), a serial killer in RED DRAGON (2002), and a widower who seeks revenge for the death of his wife in THE CONSTANT GARDENER (2005). In 2008 he had distinctive roles in IN BRUGES, THE READER, THE DUCHESS, and THE HURT LOCKER. In the Harry Potter films, he played Lord Voldemort, and in SKYFALL (2012) and SPECTRE (2015) James Bond's boss, M. He demonstrated his comedic talent in such films as Wes Anderson's THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL (2014) and the Coen Brothers' HAIL, CAESAR! (2016). Fiennes has also lent his voice to various animated films, such as THE PRINCE OF EGYPT (1998) and THE LEGO BATMAN MOVIE (2017). In CORIOLANUS, his first film as director, he took on the title role, which he had performed on stage in 2000. In 2013, he made his second full-length feature film, THE INVISIBLE WOMAN, in which he played author Charles Dickens, who had an (historically authenticated) affair with a young actress. The biopic THE WHITE CROW (2018) is Fiennes's third feature film.

CORIOLANUS

Altersfreigabe

Für seine erste Regiearbeit nimmt sich Ralph Fiennes ein spätes Shakespeare-Stück vor, dessen Titelhelden er bereits im Jahr 2000 selbst auf der Bühne spielte. Der römische General Caius Martius fällt dabei nicht nur durch seine entschlossene Kampfkraft auf, sondern auch durch seinen Stolz und seinen Mangel an sozialen Umgangsformen, was ihm immer wieder selbst im Wege steht. Vom römischen Volk angefeindet, weil die Getreidevorräte auf sein Geheiß unter Verschluss gehalten werden, kämpft der Feldherr mit seinem Heer gegen die Feinde Roms, die Volsker, und erobert die volskische Stadt Corioli, weshalb er „Coriolanus“ genannt und sogar Konsul im römischen Senat wird.
Als Anführer hinter der Kamera hat Fiennes ein beachtliches Heer an erfahrenen Profis um sich versammelt, darunter Barry Ackroyd, Kameramann des Irakkriegsdramas THE HURT LOCKER, und John Logan, den Drehbuchautor von Ridley Scotts GLADIATOR. Fiennes und Logan einigten sich vorab darauf, die Sprache Shakespeares unverändert zu belassen. So hält sich der Film unruhig zwischen den Zeiten auf und hat einen von Machtstreben getriebenen, aber doch integren Feldherrn im Zentrum. Die Tribunen manipulieren das wankelmütige Volk, während Coriolanus seine Emotionen der Wut und Verzweiflung nicht deckeln kann. Er ist ein Außenseiter, gegen den sich selbst die eigene Mutter (Vanessa Redgrave) und der eigene Sohn wenden. Nur seine Frau (Jessica Chastain) hält ihm die Treue.
In den wenigen Momenten mit der Familie wird Fiennes Stimme sanft, der General sehnt sich nach Ruhe vor der eigenen Getriebenheit und lässt sich doch immer wieder provozieren, bis er in der Verbannung landet und mit seinem Erzfeind, dem Kommandanten der volskischen Armee, gemeinsame Sache macht. Gerald Butler ist der grimmige Gegenpart und gleichzeitig die homoerotisch aufgeladene Spiegelfigur zu Fiennes Coriolanus. Die Einsamkeit verbindet beide Anführer. Die Historie hat jedoch ihren ganz eigenen tragischen Drive.

tags: Geschichte, Gesellschaft, Krieg, Politik, Spielfilm

Darsteller: Ralph Fiennes, Gerard Butler, Vanessa Redgrave, Brian Cox, Jessica Chastain

Credits

Drehbuch: John Logan

Originalvorlage: William Shakespeare

Kamera: Barry Ackroyd

Schnitt: Nicolas Gaster

Musik: Ilan Eshkeri

Produktionsdesign: Ricky Eyres

Kostüme: Bojana Nikitovic

Ton: Ray Beckett

Produzent: Gabrielle Tana, Julia Taylor-Stanley, Colin Vaines, Ralph Fiennes, John Logan

Koproduzent: Kevan Van Thompson

Produktion (Firma): Hermetof Pictures, Magna Films, Icon Entertainment International

Regie: Ralph Fiennes

Biografie

Ralph Fiennes wurde 1962 in Ipswich in der englischen Grafschaft Suffolk geboren. Sein Schauspielhandwerk lernte er an der Royal Academy of Dramatic Art in London. Seit 1987 ist er Mitglied des Royal National Theatre, kurz darauf wurde er von der Royal Shakespeare Company engagiert. Sein Kinofilm-Debüt gab er in WUTHERING HEIGHTS (1992). Ein Jahr später spielte er einen Nazikommandanten in Steven Spielbergs SCHINDLERS LISTE (1993). Für seine darstellerische Leistung wurde Fiennes für den Oscar nominiert und bekam gehäuft Kinorollen. Er spielte die Hauptrolle in Robert Redfords QUIZ SHOW (1994) und wurde für seine Darstellung in DER ENGLISCHE PATIENT (1996) erneut für den Oscar nominiert. Währenddessen verfolgte er weiterhin seine Bühnenkarriere, spielte u.a. Hamlet in einer Broadway-Produktion von 1995 und erhielt dafür eine Tony-Nominierung. Im Kino spielte er u.a. einen Schriftsteller in Neil Jordans DAS ENDE EINER AFFÄRE (1999), einen Serienkiller in ROTER DRACHE (2002) und einen Witwer, der den Tod seiner Frau rächen will in THE CONSTANT GARDENER (2005). 2008 spielte er in BRÜGGE SEHEN... UND STERBEN?, DER VORLESER, DIE HERZOGIN und TÖDLICHES KOMMANDO – THE HURT LOCKER markante Rollen. In der Harry-Potter-Filmreihe verkörperte er Lord Voldemort, in SKYFALL (2012) und SPECTRE (2015) den Boss von James Bond, M. Sein komödiantisches Talent bewies er in Filmen wie GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL (2014) von Wes Anderson und HAIL, CAESAR! (2016) von den Coen-Brüdern. Als Sprecher war er in diversen Animationsfilmen zu hören, etwa in DER PRINZ VON ÄGYPTEN (1998) und THE LEGO BATMAN MOVIE (2017). Mit CORIOLANUS legte Fiennes 2011 sein Regiedebüt vor und übernahm selbst die Titelrolle, die er bereits 2000 auf der Bühne gespielt hatte. 2013 folgte mit THE INVISIBLE WOMAN sein zweiter abendfüllender Spielfilm: Darin übernahm Fiennes selbst die Rolle des Schriftstellers Charles Dickens, der eine (historisch verbürgte) Affäre mit einer jungen Schauspielerin hatte. Das Biopic NUREJEW – THE WHITE CROW (2018) ist Fiennes dritter Spielfilm.

Vorstellungen

Sonntag, 30.06.2019, 15:00 Uhr (123 Min.)
Filmmuseum