THE ENGLISH PATIENT

German Age Rating

A plane soars above the desert of northern Africa. Inside it are a pilot and a woman whose face is caressed by the sun. To these images, we hear an exotic-sounding song that is, however, not Arabic, but Hungarian. It's the folk song "Szerelem, Szerelem", sung by Márta Sebestyén. National identities are inconstant in Anthony Minghella's adaptation of Michael Ondaatje's novel. The "English patient" of the title is Hungarian count Lászlo Almásy, who in the confusion of World War II is at one point even fatefully thought to be a German. Ralph Fiennes plays this count, who is brought to an Italian military hospital after suffering serious burns in an airplane crash. A Canadian nurse named Hana (Juliette Binoche) takes care of him. As the Allied troops move on, she and Almásy stay behind in a monastery. Almásy suffers from amnesia. His story unfolds in flashbacks.
Director Minghella has turned the novel into a monumental epic that received 12 Oscar nominations and nine awards, including for best director and best film. Ralph Fiennes and Kristin Scott-Thomas were each nominated for their acting performance. They play a couple who meet in the desert and have to keep their desire for each other a secret from the very beginning, because Scott-Thomas's character is already married to a Briton (Colin Firth). Fiennes portrays the count as a stiff-upper-lipped adventurer who's euphoric for only a moment when he discovers the "Cave of the Swimmers" during an expedition he and a friend are leading in the Egyptian desert. The count channels his erotic energy into art: for example, to him the dune landscape represents a woman's back.
A sandstorm brings Almásy and Katherine together, but her husband ultimately discovers their affair. Parallel to this love story, a relationship develops between nurse Hana and Kip, an Indian soldier who continually risks his life defusing bombs. The war has a fateful effect on these relationships. In all this, Fiennes is a classic romantic hero with a dangerously calm presence.

Images courtesy of Park Circus/ Miramax

tags: Relationship, History, Love, Guilt, Feature film

Cast: Ralph Fiennes, Juliette Binoche, Willem Dafoe, Kristin Scott Thomas, Naveen Andrews

Credits

Screenplay: Anthony Minghella

Original Material: Michael Ondaatje

Director of Photography: John Seale

Film Editor: Walter Murch

Composer: Gabriel Yared

Production Designer: Stuart Craig

Producer: Saul Zaentz

Production Company: Miramax, Tiger Moth Productions

Director: Anthony Minghella

biography

Anthony Minghella was born on the Isle of Wight in 1954. He attended the University of Hull, where he later became a lecturer. In 1978, he made his first short film, and in 1981 he took up freelance writing, mainly stage plays and radio plays. He also wrote screenplays, such as for Jim Henson's TV series THE STORYTELLER (1988). In 1990, TRULY MADLY DEEPLY became his first feature-length motion picture, for which he also wrote the screenplay. For this, the London Film Critics Circle named him "best newcomer". Minghella's most successful film, THE ENGLISH PATIENT (1997), received 12 Oscar nominations and nine awards, including for best film and best director. Two years later, Minghella was nominated for an Oscar for best screenplay adaptation for THE TALENTED MR. RIPLEY, based on a novel by Patricia Highsmith. Here, too, he directed the film. COLD MOUNTAIN (2003) was a further literary adaptation with an all-star cast including Jude Law, Nicole Kidman, and Renée Zellweger. Zellweger received an Oscar for best supporting actress. BREAKING AND ENTERING (2006) was Minghella's last feature film. In 2008, he died of internal hemorrhaging following an operation to remove a cancerous tumor at a London hospital. He was 54 years old.

Screenings

Sunday, 6/30/2019, 11:00 AM (162 Min.)
Filmmuseum

DER ENGLISCHE PATIENT

Altersfreigabe

Ein Flugzeug über der nordafrikanischen Wüste, darin ein Pilot und eine Frau, deren Gesicht in den Schein der Sonne gerät. Zu den Bildern ertönt ein fremdländisch klingender Song, der jedoch nicht arabisch, sondern ungarisch ist: das Volkslied „Szerelem, szerelem“, gesungen von Márta Sebestyén. Die nationalen Identitäten sind im ständigen Fluss in Anthony Minghellas Verfilmung des Romans von Michael Ondaatje. Der titelgebende „englische Patient“ ist der ungarische Graf Lázló Almásy, der in den Wirren des Zweiten Weltkriegs sogar einmal fatalerweise für einen Deutschen gehalten wird. Ralph Fiennes spielt diesen Grafen, der nach einem Flugzeugabsturz schwer verbrannt in einem italienischen Lazarett landet, wo er von der kanadischen Krankenschwester Hana (Juliette Binoche) behandelt wird. Während die alliierten Truppen weiterziehen, bleibt sie mit Almásy in einem Mönchskloster zurück. Almásy leidet unter Amnesie. In Rückblenden entfaltet sich seine Geschichte.
Regisseur Minghella hat aus dem Roman ein bildstarkes Epos gemacht, dass zwölfmal für den Oscar nominiert war und neun Trophäen gewann, darunter für den besten Regisseur und den besten Film. Ralph Fiennes und Kristin Scott-Thomas waren jeweils für ihre schauspielerische Leistung nominiert: Sie spielen ein Liebespaar, das sich in der Wüste kennenlernt und das gegenseitige Begehren von Anfang an geheim halten muss, da die von Scott-Thomas gespielte Katharine bereits mit einem Briten (Colin Firth) verheiratet ist. Fiennes spielt den Grafen als gefühlskontrollierten Abenteuer, der nur kurz euphorisch wird, als er im Rahmen der Expedition, die er gemeinsam mit einem Freund in der ägyptischen Wüste leitet, die „Höhle der Schwimmer“ entdeckt. Seine erotischen Energien sublimiert der Graf zunächst in der Kunst, zeichnet etwa die Dünenlandschaft, sieht in ihr den Rücken einer Frau.
In einem Sandsturm kommen sich Almásy und Katherine näher, unterhalten kurz darauf eine Affäre, die von ihrem Gatten jedoch entdeckt wird. Parallel zu dieser Liebesgeschichte von einst entwickelt sich eine Beziehung zwischen Krankenschwester Hana und dem indischen Soldaten Kip, der als Bombenentschärfer ein aufs andere Mal sein Leben aufs Spiel setzt. Der Krieg wirkt schicksalhaft auf die Beziehungen ein. Fiennes ist dabei ein klassisch romantischer Held von gefährlich ruhiger Präsenz.

Images courtesy of Park Circus/ Miramax

tags: Beziehung, Geschichte, Liebe, Schuld, Spielfilm

Darsteller: Ralph Fiennes, Juliette Binoche, Willem Dafoe, Kristin Scott Thomas, Naveen Andrews

Credits

Drehbuch: Anthony Minghella

Originalvorlage: Michael Ondaatje

Kamera: John Seale

Schnitt: Walter Murch

Musik: Gabriel Yared

Produktionsdesign: Stuart Craig

Produzent: Saul Zaentz

Produktion (Firma): Miramax, Tiger Moth Productions

Regie: Anthony Minghella

Biografie

Anthony Minghella wurde 1954 als Sohn italienisch-schottischer Eltern auf der Isle of Wight geboren. Nach seinem Schulabschluss studierte er an der Universität von Hull, wo er daraufhin auch als Dozent arbeitete. 1978 drehte er seinen ersten Kurzfilm, ab 1981 arbeitete er als freier Autor, vor allem von Theaterstücken und Hörspielen. Er war auch als Drehbuchautor tätig, u.a. für Jim Hensons TV-Serie THE STORYTELLER (1988). Mit WIE VERRÜCKT UND AUS TIEFESTEM HERZEN legte Minghella 1990 seinen ersten abendfüllenden Spielfilm vor, für den er auch das Drehbuch schrieb. Er wurde dafür vom Londoner Film Critics Circle zum „Besten Newcomer“ gekürt. Minghellas erfolgreichster Film, DER ENGLISCHE PATIENT (1997), erhielt zwölf Oscar-Nominierungen und wurde neunmal ausgezeichnet, u.a. für den besten Film und die beste Regie. Zwei Jahre später erhielt Minghella eine Oscarnominierung in der Kategorie „Bestes adaptiertes Drehbuch“ für DER TALENTIERTE MR. RIPLEY nach dem Roman von Patricia Highsmith. Auch hier führte er Regie. UNTERWEGS NACH COLD MOUNTAIN (2003) war eine weitere, mit Jude Law, Nicole Kidman und Renée Zellweger hochkarätig besetzte Literaturverfilmung. Zellweger bekam einen Oscar für die beste Nebenrolle. BREAKING AND ENTERING (2006) sollte Minghellas letzter abendfüllender Spielfilm werden. 2008 starb er in einem Londoner Krankenhaus nach einer Krebs-Operation an inneren Blutungen. Er wurde 54 Jahre alt.

Vorstellungen

Sonntag, 30.06.2019, 11:00 Uhr (162 Min.)
Filmmuseum