BACURAU

German Age Rating

To Facebook

Watch Trailer

Brazil in the not-too-distant future: The village of Bacurau has space for everyone, its residents live in harmony with one another, and everyone takes care of everyone else. Yet appearances are deceiving. Unknown dangers lurk in the thick jungle. That's because while the people are concerned about a lack of water or medicine, preparations are being made elsewhere to erase this place from the map — with horrifying means. Kleber Mendonça Filho's dystopian thriller deals with current areas of conflict in a deeply divided Brazilian society and paints a picture that, though surreal, is painfully close to reality. For this, the film received the Jury Award at the Cannes Film Festival.

tags: Society, Latin America, Human Rights, Feature film, Thriller

Cast: Bárbara Colen, Thomás Aquino, Udo Kier, Sonia Braga

Credits

Screenplay: Juliano Dornelles, Kleber Mendonça Filho

Director of Photography: Pedro Sotero

Film Editor: Eduardo Serrano

Composer: Mateus Alves, Tomáz Alves Souza

Production Designer: Thales Junqueira

Costume Design: Rita Azevedo

Sound: Ricardo Cutz

Producer: Emilie Lesclaux, Saïd Ben Saïd, Michel Merkt

Production Company: CinemaScópio Produções

Co-Production Company: SBS International

World Sales: SBS International

Director: Kleber Mendonça Filho, Juliano Dornelles

biography

Kleber Mendonça Filho (1st photo) was born in Recife, Brazil, in 1968, where he still lives today. He studied journalism at the Universidade Federal de Pernambuco and worked as a journalist and film critic. After several short films and the documentary CRITICO (2008), he had his feature-film debut with NEIGHBORING SOUNDS (shown at FILMFEST MÜNCHEN 2012), about a middle-class neighborhood in Recife. His second full-length film, AQUARIUS (shown at FILMFEST MÜNCHEN 2016), was entered in competition in Cannes and was about an elderly woman being forced out of her apartment.

Juliano Dornelles (2nd photo) was born in Recife, Brazil, in 1980. For more than 16 years, he's been a production designer. His partnership with Kleber Mendonça Filho began on the set of the short film ELETRODOMÉSTICA (2004). He has also directed a few short films. BACURAU, made in collaboration with Kleber Mendonça Filho, is his first feature film as director.

Screenings

Sunday, 6/30/2019, 1:00 PM (131 Min.)
Atelier 2
Select Press
Sunday, 6/30/2019, 7:45 PM (131 Min.)
Atelier 1

Q&A after the film

Tuesday, 7/2/2019, 4:30 PM (131 Min.)
Atelier 1

Q&A after the film

Saturday, 7/6/2019, 5:30 PM (131 Min.)
Atelier 1

BACURAU

Brasilien in der nahen Zukunft: In dem kleinen Dorf Bacurau gibt es für jeden Platz, die Einwohner leben friedlich miteinander, ein jeder kümmert sich liebevoll um den anderen. Doch diese Idylle trügt: Im dichten Dschungel lauern Gefahren, von denen noch niemand etwas ahnt. Denn während sich die Menschen um das fehlende Wasser oder auch Medizin sorgen, laufen von außen längst Vorbereitungen, den Ort von der Landkarte zu tilgen – mit rabiaten, absolut erschreckenden Mitteln… Kleber Mendonça Filhos dystopischer Thriller greift die aktuellen Konfliktfelder einer zutiefst gespaltenen brasilianischen Gesellschaft auf und entwirft ein Bild, das surreal überzogen und doch schmerzhaft nahe an unserer Wirklichkeit ist. Dafür erhielt er bei den Filmfestspielen in Cannes den Preis der Jury.

tags: Gesellschaft, Lateinamerika, Menschenrechte, Spielfilm, Thriller

Darsteller: Bárbara Colen, Thomás Aquino, Udo Kier, Sonia Braga

Credits

Drehbuch: Juliano Dornelles, Kleber Mendonça Filho

Kamera: Pedro Sotero

Schnitt: Eduardo Serrano

Musik: Mateus Alves, Tomáz Alves Souza

Produktionsdesign: Thales Junqueira

Kostüme: Rita Azevedo

Ton: Ricardo Cutz

Produzent: Emilie Lesclaux, Saïd Ben Saïd, Michel Merkt

Produktion (Firma): CinemaScópio Produções

Koproduktion (Firma): SBS International

Weltvertrieb: SBS International

Regie: Kleber Mendonça Filho, Juliano Dornelles

Biografie

Kleber Mendonça Filho (1. Foto) wurde 1968 in Recife, Brasilien, geboren. Zunächst studierte er Journalismus an der Universidade Federal de Pernambuco und arbeitete im Anschluss als Journalist und Filmkritiker. Nach mehreren Kurzfilmen und dem Dokumentarfilm CRITICO (2008) gab er mit O SOM AO REDOR über eine mittelständische Wohngegend in Recife sein Spielfilmdebüt, das 2012 auch auf dem FILMFEST MÜNCHEN lief. Sein zweiter Langfilm AQUARIUS, im Jahr 2016 beim FILMFEST MÜNCHEN, war Teil des Wettbewerbs von Cannes und handelt von einer älteren Dame, die aus ihrer Wohnung gedrängt werden soll.

Juliano Dornelles (2. Foto) wurde 1980 in Recife, Brasilien, geboren. Seit mehr als 16 Jahren ist er als Szenenbildner tätig und arbeitete in dieser Funktion bereits mehrfach mit Kleber Mendonça Filho zusammen – erstmals 2004 bei dem Kurzfilm ELETRODOMÉSTICA. Zusätzlich inszenierte er auch selbst einige Kurzfilme. BACURAU ist in Zusammenarbeit mit Kleber Mendonça Filho sein Langfilmdebüt als Regisseur.

Vorstellungen

Sonntag, 30.06.2019, 13:00 Uhr (131 Min.)
Atelier 2
Merken Presse
Sonntag, 30.06.2019, 19:45 Uhr (131 Min.)
Atelier 1

Q&A nach dem Film

Dienstag, 02.07.2019, 16:30 Uhr (131 Min.)
Atelier 1

Q&A nach dem Film

Samstag, 06.07.2019, 17:30 Uhr (131 Min.)
Atelier 1