THE CORDILLERA OF DREAMS

German Age Rating

Film Website

"In Chile, the sun must first climb hills, cliffs, and summits before it reaches the last stone in the Cordilleras. In my country, the Cordilleras are everywhere, but to Chileans, they are unknown territory. After visiting the North for NOSTALGIA FOR THE LIGHT and the South for THE PEARL BUTTON, I'm now prepared to photograph this immeasurable ridge, in order to explore its secrets and its powerful revelations of Chile's past and present." — Patricio Guzmán
This film concludes a trilogy that Chilean documentarist Patricio Guzmán began in 2010 with NOSTALGIA FOR THE LIGHT and continued in 2015 with THE PEARL BUTTON. In part three, Guzmán, who has lived in exile in Paris since the coup d'état by Augusto Pinochet in 1973, observes the natural environment of his home country as an allegory of the political history of revolutionary utopia, fascist dictatorship, and neoliberal depletion of society. After focusing on the Atacama Desert — the driest area in the world, the most important location for giant telescopes, and also the location of Pinochet's concentration camps — and the Pacific Ocean, in which thousands of opponents of the regime were tied to railroad tracks and drowned, Guzmán now turns to the Andes Mountains. They cover 80 percent of Chile's land area and yet they are a blank spot to most Chileans — just like the horrors of the dictatorship and the unbroken tradition of resistance to them. Although these historical events continue to influence the political and economic reality of the country even today, they have been pushed out of the public consciousness. Guzmán's impressive documentary is thus also a work intended to raise awareness and active reappraisal.

tags: Documentary, Society, Latin America, Nature, Politics

Credits

Screenplay: Patricio Guzmán

Director of Photography: Samuel Lahu

Film Editor: Emmanuelle Joly

Composer: Miranda y Tobar

Producer: Renate Sachse

Co-Producer: Olivier Pere, Eric Lagesse, Alexandra Galvis

Production Company: Atacama Productions

Co-Production Company: Arte France Cinéma, Sampek Productions, Market Chile

World Sales: Pyramide International

Director: Patricio Guzmán

biography

Patricio Guzmán was born in Chile in 1941. He studied history and philosophy at the University of Chile before turning to film at the Catholic University of Chile and the Film University of Madrid. His numerous works, which preferentially deal with his home country, include the trilogy THE BATTLE OF CHILE, comprised of THE INSURRECTION OF THE BOURGEOISIE (1975), THE COUP D’ÉTAT (1976), and POPULAR POWER (1979). During work on these films, Guzmán was arrested by the junta in 1973 and left Chile thanks to a Spanish passport. His subsequent films CHILE OBSTINATE MEMORY (1997) and SALVADOR ALLENDE (2004) also deal with Chilean history. By contrast, NOSTALGIA FOR THE LIGHT (2010), THE PEARL BUTTON (2015), and THE CORDILLERA OF DREAMS focus on the country's natural environment. In addition to directing films, Guzmán also gives lectures in Europe and Latin America. He founded the Santiago International Documentary Festival.

Screenings

Saturday, 6/29/2019, 7:30 PM (85 Min.)
Münchner Freiheit 4
Sunday, 6/30/2019, 6:00 PM (85 Min.)
Gloria Palast
Tuesday, 7/2/2019, 10:30 PM (85 Min.)
Münchner Freiheit 1

LA CORDILLERA DE LOS SUEÑOS

Altersfreigabe

Zur Webseite

„Die Sonne in Chile muss zu Sonnenaufgang zunächst Hügel, Mauern und Gipfel erklimmen, bevor sie den letzten Stein der Kordilleren erreicht. In meinem Land sind die Kordilleren überall. Doch für die Chilenen sind sie ein unbekanntes Gebiet. Nachdem ich den Norden für HEIMWEH NACH DEN STERNEN und den Süden für DER PERLMUTTKNOPF aufsuchte, bin ich jetzt bereit diesen unermesslichen Grat zu fotografieren, um seine Geheimnisse und kraftvollen Enthüllungen der Vergangenheit und Gegenwart Chiles zu erforschen.“ – Patricio Guzmán
LA CORDILLERA DE LOS SUEÑOS ist der Abschluss einer Trilogie, die der chilenische Dokumentarfilm-Regisseur Patricio Guzmán 2010 mit HEIMWEH NACH DEN STERNEN begann und 2015 mit DER PERLMUTTKNOPF fortführte. Im dritten Teil nun betrachtet Guzmán, der seit dem Pinochet-Putsch 1973 im Pariser Exil lebt, die Natur seiner Heimat als Sinnbild der politischen Geschichte von revolutionärer Utopie, faschistischer Diktatur und neoliberalem Raubbau an der Gesellschaft. Nach der Atacama-Wüste – dem trockensten Gebiet der Welt und wichtigsten Standort für Weltraumteleskope, aber auch Standort von Pinochets Konzentrationslager – und dem Wasser des Pazifiks, in dem tausende Regimegegner an Bahnschienen gefesselt ertränkt wurden, widmet sich Guzmán nun dem Anden-Gebirge. 80% der Oberfläche Chiles macht es aus und ist doch ein blinder Fleck im chilenischen Bewusstsein – ähnlich wie die Gräuel der Diktatur und die ungebrochene Tradition des Widerstands gegen sie. Obwohl diese geschichtlichen Umstände bis heute die politischen und ökonomischen Realitäten des Landes weiterhin maßgeblich beeinflussen, wurden sie dennoch aus der Wahrnehmung der Gesellschaft verdrängt. Guzmáns bildstarker Dokumentarfilm ist darum auch ein Werk der Bewusstmachung und engagierten Aufarbeitung.

tags: Dokumentarfilm, Gesellschaft, Lateinamerika, Natur, Politik

Credits

Drehbuch: Patricio Guzmán

Kamera: Samuel Lahu

Schnitt: Emmanuelle Joly

Musik: Miranda y Tobar

Produzent: Renate Sachse

Koproduzent: Olivier Pere, Eric Lagesse, Alexandra Galvis

Produktion (Firma): Atacama Productions

Koproduktion (Firma): Arte France Cinéma, Sampek Productions, Market Chile

Weltvertrieb: Pyramide International

Regie: Patricio Guzmán

Biografie

Patricio Guzmán wurde 1941 in Chile geboren. Er studierte Geschichte und Philosophie an der Universität von Chile und wendete sich am Filminstitut der katholischen Universität von Chile und an der Filmhochschule von Madrid dem Film zu. Zu seinen zahlreichen Werken, die sich vorzugsweise mit seinem Heimatland beschäftigen, zählt beispielsweise die Trilogie THE BATTLE OF CHILE, welche sich aus THE INSURRECTION OF THE BOURGEOISIE (1975), THE COUP D’ÉTAT (1976) und POPULAR POWER (1979) zusammensetzt. Während der Fertigstellung wurde Guzmán 1973 vom Militärregime verhaftet und verließ Chile mit Hilfe seiner spanischen Staatsbürgerschaft. Auch CHILE OBSTINATE MEMORY (1997) und SALVADOR ALLENDE (2004) greifen die chilenische Geschichte auf. Dagegen wenden sich HEIMWEH NACH DEN STERNEN (2010), DER PERLMUTTKNOPF (2015) und LA CORDILLERA DE LOS SUEÑOS der Natur Chiles zu. Neben seinen eigenen Regiearbeiten unterrichtet Guzmán sowohl in Europa wie auch Lateinamerika und gründete das Internationale Festival für Dokumentarfilm in Santiago.

Vorstellungen

Samstag, 29.06.2019, 19:30 Uhr (85 Min.)
Münchner Freiheit 4
Sonntag, 30.06.2019, 18:00 Uhr (85 Min.)
Gloria Palast
Dienstag, 02.07.2019, 22:30 Uhr (85 Min.)
Münchner Freiheit 1