AWARD CEREMONY: CINEMA AWARDS OF THE CITY OF MUNICH

German Age Rating

By invitation only


The City of Munich's Kinoprogrammpreise or Cinema Awards, established in 2002, will this year for the first time be presented at FILMFEST MÜNCHEN. These awards recognize the achievements of Munich's cinema operators in upholding the city's culture of cinema, both in a quality selection of films and in their efforts to maintain movie theaters as attractive venues. Art house cinemas, for example, show series of films on diverse political and societal topics and give audiences the opportunity to examine these films in more depth in panel discussions with film directors and experts. These cinemas regularly participate in film festivals, have screenings for children, adolescents, and senior citizens, show films in their original language, and screen short films and documentaries. Art house cinemas make an essential contribution to Munich's cultural diversity.


Following the presentation of the award will be a discussion (in German) with the title "Quo vadis, Cinema? The System between Established Subsidies and Alternative Models". The panelists will be Dunja Bialas, Dorothee Erpenstein, Ingo Fließ, and Edgar Reitz (invited). The moderator will be Christian Pfeil.


The 2019 award-winners are: Thomas Kuchenreuther for the ABC Kino, Markus Eisele and Christian Pfeil for the Arena Filmtheater, Fritz and Christoph Pressmar for the Filmtheater Sendlinger Tor, Thomas Wilhelm for the Neues Rex Filmtheater, Elisabeth Kuonen-Reich (†) for the Rio Filmpalast, Wolfgang Bihlmeir, Bernd Brehmer, Doris Kuhn, and Erich Wagner for the Werkstattkino


 


 

tags: Award Ceremony

Date & Time

Monday, 7/1/2019, 2:00 PM (90 Min.)
Gasteig Black Box

PREISVERLEIHUNG: KINOPROGRAMMPREISE

Altersfreigabe

Nur auf Einladung


Die 2002 eingeführten Kinoprogrammpreise der Landeshauptstadt München werden in diesem Jahr ebenfalls erstmalig im Rahmen des FILMFEST MÜNCHEN verliehen. Sie sind als Auszeichnung für die Programmqualität und eine ansprechende Kinoführung gedacht. Die Preise sollen aber auch den Einsatz der Münchner Kinobetreiberinnen und -betreiber für den Erhalt der Filmkunst in München würdigen. Die Programm- und Arthouse-Kinos bieten beispielsweise Filmreihen zu verschiedensten politischen und gesellschaftlichen Themen und eröffnen in Podiumsgesprächen mit Experten und Regisseurinnen und Regisseuren dem Publikum die Möglichkeit, sich vertiefend mit den Filmen zu befassen. Zu den festen Pro-grammpunkten dieser Kinos gehören außerdem die Mitwirkung bei Filmfestivals, die Durchführung von Vorstellungen für Kinder, Jugendliche und Senioren sowie die Präsentation von Originalfassungen und von Kurz- und Dokumentarfilmen. Die Programm- und Arthouse-Kinos leisten damit einen unverzichtbaren Beitrag für die kulturelle Vielfalt in München.


Im Anschluss an die Preisverleihung wird eine Diskussionsrunde mit dem Titel „Quo vadis, Kino? Das System zwischen etablierter Förderung und alternativen Modellen“ stattfinden. Auf dem Podium diskutieren Dunja Bialas, Dorothee Erpenstein, Ingo Fließ und Edgar Reitz (angefr.). Die Diskussion moderiert Christian Pfeil.


Die Preisträger*innen 2019 sind: Thomas Kuchenreuther für das ABC-Kino, Markus Eisele und Christian Pfeil für das Arena Filmtheater, Fritz Preßmar und Christoph Preßmar für das Filmtheater Sendlinger Tor, Thomas Wilhelm für das Filmtheater Neues Rex, Elisabeth Kuonen-Reich (†) für den Rio Filmpalast, Wolfgang Bihlmeir, Bernd Brehmer, Doris Kuhn und Erich Wagner für das Werkstattkino

tags: Preisverleihung

Termine

Montag, 01.07.2019, 14:00 Uhr (90 Min.)
Gasteig Black Box