Retrospective | Mads Brügger

Cinema's Agent Provocateur

Taking greater risks than many others do to make a film, Mads Brügger — born in Denmark in 1972, program manager at Danish radio station Radio24syv, journalist, and editor — practices a novel form of first-person gonzo journalism. Instead of appearing as a neutral observer, he prefers to do the dirty deeds himself. His behavior ranges from cynicism to irony to unscrupulousness, never bothering with political correctness. Brügger deliberately crosses boundaries and continually puts himself in danger. His alter ego, a kind of performer, is reminiscent of Sacha Baron Cohen's BORAT, while his exposé style resembles that of Michael Moore. With a mixture of humor, provocation, and brazenness, the Danish filmmaker gets involved in daring adventures without knowing where they might lead him.

For example, for the TV documentary DANES FOR BUSH, he arrives in the middle of the 2004 US presidential race and claims to be a Danish supporter of George W. Bush. In RED CHAPEL, Brügger as an unscrupulous stage director travels with two Korean-Danish comedians to North Korea in order to get a better impression of this reclusive country. For THE AMBASSADOR, the director hones his role-playing skills and buys a Liberian diplomatic passport for 135,000 dollars, which gains him access to the diamond trade. The filming of the semi-fictional comedy THE SAINT BERNARD SYNDICATE (2018), in which two Danes, Rasmus and Frederik, want to raise Saint Bernard dogs in China, was also done guerrilla-style, without a shooting permit.

In his latest film, COLD CASE HAMMARSKJÖLD, Brügger attempts to uncover the circumstances surrounding the still-unexplained airplane crash that took the life of Swedish UN Secretary General Dag Hammarskjöld in what was then Northern Rhodesia in 1961. Brügger's research takes him a lot further than he had planned, revealing a network of political conspiracies, covert mercenary groups, entanglements with intelligence agencies, and inhuman experiments by racist white Europeans using the AIDS virus. FILMFEST MÜNCHEN is dedicating a homage to this great cinematic agent provocateur and is proud to welcome Mads Brügger to Munich in person.

Anna Steinbauer

All films of this section >>

Retrospektive | Mads Brügger

Agent Provocateur des Kinos

Für seine Filme riskiert er mehr als viele andere: Mads Brügger – geboren 1972 in Dänemark, Programmchef des dänischen Hörfunksenders Radio24syv, Journalist und Regisseur – betreibt gerade in seinen filmischen Werken eine neuartige Form des performativen Gonzo-Journalismus. So tritt er nicht als neutraler Beobachter auf, sondern macht die dreckigen Geschäfte lieber gleich selbst. Sein Verhalten bewegt sich dabei zwischen Zynismus, Ironie und moralischer Skrupellosigkeit, ohne auf die Political Correctness zu achten. Brügger überschreitet bewusst Grenzen und bringt sich selbst immer wieder in Gefahr. Sein Performance-Alter Ego erinnert oft an Sacha Baron Cohens BORAT, sein Enthüllungsanspruch gleicht demjenigen Michael Moores. Mit einer Mischung aus Humor, Provokation und Dreistigkeit lässt sich der Däne auf gewagte Abenteuer ein, ohne zu wissen, wohin sie ihn führen.

So landet er für den TV-Dokumentarfilm DANES FÜR BUSH mitten im US-Wahlkampf 2004, wo er sich als dänischer Anhänger von Präsident Georg W. Bush ausgibt. In RED CHAPEL reist Brügger als skrupelloser Regisseur mit zwei koreanisch-dänischen Comedians nach Nordkorea, um tiefere Eindrücke aus dem abgeschotteten Land liefern zu können. Für THE EMBASSADOR perfektioniert der Filmemacher sein Rollenspiel und kauft sich für 135000 Dollar einen liberianischen Diplomatenpass, der ihm den Einstieg in den Diamantenhandel ermöglicht. Den Dreh der semi-fiktionalen Komödie THE SAINT BERNARD SYNDICATE (2018), in dem die beiden Dänen Rasmus und Frederik eine Bernhardiner-Zucht in China aufziehen wollen, realisierte Brügger ebenfalls guerilla-mäßig, ohne Genehmigungen.

In seinem neuen Film COLD CASE HAMMERSKJÖLD versucht er, die Umstände des bisher ungeklärten Flugzeugabsturzes aufzudecken, bei dem 1961 der schwedische UNO-Generalsekretär Dag Hammarskjöld im damaligen Nord-Rhodesien ums Leben kam. Seine filmische Recherche führt ihn jedoch weit über das geplante Vorhaben hinaus, in ein Netz aus politischen Verschwörungen, verdeckt agierenden Söldnervereinigungen, geheimdienstlichen Verwicklungen und menschenverachtenden AIDS-Experimenten rassistischer weißer Europäer. Dem großen Agent Provocateur des Kinos widmet das FILMFEST MÜNCHEN eine Hommage und freut sich, dass Mads Brügger selbst nach München kommt.

Anna Steinbauer

Zu den Filmen dieser Reihe >>