New German Cinema

A FINE ILLUSION

In an age when, absurdly, facts compete with perceived reality, belief in a better future is being shaken. Inside one's own reality, it's becoming harder and harder to construct a positive narrative for oneself. The filmmakers who are presenting their latest works as premieres in the New German Cinema section this year have responded with delight — delight at this uncertainty, delight at drifting, and delight at coming up with personal theories with medium reach.

What tomorrow will bring? Hard to say. Let's look at today. Tomorrow there might not be any money left for the plans we've made today, or any energy to fulfill them. Let's make the most of it. Will people then call that decadent? It would be entirely appropriate for them to do so, as a logical reaction to the uncertainty in society. The Roaring Twenties and their hedonistic excesses are now a hundred years behind us. What future do today's twentysomethings or fortysomethings have?

There are various ways to respond to this inability to find stable ground beneath your feet. Coolness, drifting, improvisation. Good beer and good conversation in a bar. Good music. The glory days of rock ’n’ roll. Keep calm and carry on. Promiscuity. Or create your own illusions, parallel worlds, or fantasy worlds — in the belief that reality will catch up to those visions. Just don't stand still.

The characters themselves know that some surfaces are cracked. People travel in airplanes but don't have their own apartment; they think up fairy tales for themselves or their children — fairy tales about a society and their one place in it. Anyone who's too deeply rooted in the wrong life and still strives for perfection is condemned to failure, to the abyss. From time to time, even the most brutal conservative values are restored. All in all, this year's films are an invitation to stop striving for perfection in life, or for a stable image of yourself, and to just let yourself once again be surprised — best of all at yourself.

It's nice to experience this at a special screening, consisting of a short film, a feature-length film, and a discussion. All of these raise the question of what cinema is, what it can be, and what it will be. Can it perhaps exist without people at some point — entirely digitally? Certainly not in the way it's received, of course. So let's meet in the dark, watch together, talk about what we've seen, and leave the cinema — hopefully — with our lives having been enhanced. There are 16 + 2 new offerings. Welcome.

Christoph Gröner

All films of this section >>

Neues Deutsches Kino

Schöner Schein

In einer Zeit, in der die Fakten in absurder Konkurrenz zu den gefühlten Realitäten stehen, wird das Vertrauen auf die „bessere“ Zukunft bisweilen unsicher. Die eigene Realität, ein positives Narrativ für einen selbst darin lässt sich immer schwerer konstruieren. Die Filmemacher*innen, die in diesem Jahrgang der Reihe Neues Deutsches Kino ihre neuesten Arbeiten in Weltpremieren präsentieren, reagieren darauf mit Lust – mit Lust an dieser Unsicherheit, mit Lust am Driften und am Finden von persönlichen Theorien mittlerer Reichweite.

Was das Morgen bringt? Schwer zu sagen. Schauen wir auf das Heute. Vielleicht ist morgen schon kein Geld mehr für den heutigen Lebensentwurf da, oder keine Energie. Machen wir das Beste daraus. Will man das dann Dekadenz nennen? Diese wäre jedenfalls durchaus angebracht, als schlüssige Reaktion auf gesellschaftliche Ungewissheiten. Die Goldenen Zwanziger mit ihrem ausschweifenden Hedonismus sind nun ein Jahrhundert von uns entfernt – wie steht es um die Twentysomethings oder Fortysomethings von heute?

Auf das Unvermögen, einen stabilen Boden zu finden, gibt es verschiedene Reaktionsmöglichkeiten. Coolness, Driften, Improvisation. Ein gutes Bier und ein gutes Gespräch in der Kneipe. Einfach gute Musik. Die Glory Days of Rock ‘n‘ Roll. Bei sich bleiben, solange es geht. Sexuelle Freizügigkeit. Oder man kreiert für sich Scheinwelten, Parallelwelten, Fantasiewelten – im Glauben daran, dass die Realität diesen Visionen schon folgen wird. Bloß nicht Stillstehen.

Dass manche Oberflächen dann doch brüchig sind, wissen die Figuren selbst. Da fliegt man in Flugzeugen und hat keine eigene Wohnung, kreiert Märchen für sich oder seine Kinder – Märchen von einer Gesellschaft und einem persönlichen Platz darin. Wer zu tief im falschen Leben steckt und dann auch noch Perfektion anstrebt, ist zum Scheitern, zum Abgrund verurteilt. Mitunter werden dabei sogar brutalstkonservative Werte restauriert. Alles in allem sind die Filme dieses Jahrgangs eine Einladung, jede Perfektion über Bord zu werfen, jedes stabile Selbstimage – und sich einfach mal wieder überraschen zu lassen. Am besten von sich selbst.

Schön zu erleben ist das auch in einem Special Screening, bestehend aus einem Kurz- und Langfilm, und einer daran angrenzenden Diskussion. Sie laden allesamt zur Frage ein, was Kino ist, sein kann und was es sein wird. Ob es vielleicht einmal ohne Mensch existieren kann, ganz digital? In der Rezeption natürlich auf keinen Fall. Treffen wir uns also im Dunkeln, schauen gemeinsam, reden darüber und verlassen – hoffentlich – bereichert das Kino. 16 + 2 neue Angebote stehen an. Herzlich willkommen.

Christoph Gröner

Zu den Filmen dieser Reihe >>