CineMerit Award | Ralph Fiennes

FILMFEST MÜNCHEN is pleased to welcome Ralph Fiennes as our guest on July 1st this year. The British actor and director will be honored with our festival's special award, the CineMerit Award. Fiennes will also participate in a Filmmakers Live! talk in the Gasteig's Black Box, at which fans and guests can pose questions of the Oscar-nominated performer.

Whether as Lord Voldemort or as SS Hauptsturmführer Amon Göth, Ralph Fiennes knows how to lend a personal quality to pure evil. But he can also be an adorably flirtatious concierge, as in Wes Anderson's "Grand Budapest Hotel". In his acting roles, Ralph Fiennes reinvents himself time and again, gives his characters unexpected facets, and is never afraid to take risks. He's said that a life full of contradictions helps him to make these characters come alive. His unique and intense portrayals have defined such Oscar-winning dramas as "Schindler's List", "The Constant Gardener", and "The English Patient", and have earned him several international awards. It's this versatility that makes Fiennes an outstanding and multifaceted actor who in recent years has also forayed into directing.

That's why FILMFEST MÜNCHEN is showing all three of the films he's directed as well as further movies that display his accomplishments as an actor. The presentation of the CineMerit Award will include a screening of his new film THE WHITE CROW. Fiennes not only directed the film, but also played the part of renowned Leningrad ballet master Alexander Pushkin. One intense look from him, and he has everyone's attention. Dance instructor Pushkin stands in an empty room with calm stoicism and a gentle but determined look. At the ballet barre, his pupils are waiting for his signal. A slight gesture, a terse "Get ready" — and the tone is set. Just as gentle and determined is Fiennes' signature touch. He takes a calm and studious approach to the incredible story of legendary Soviet ballet dancer Rudolf Nureyev, who astonished the world with his defection to France in 1961. Nureyev is played by world-class Ukrainian ballet dancer Oleg Ivenko.

In CORIOLANUS, his first film as director, Fiennes brought his appreciation of Shakespeare's works to the big screen. Prior to his success in film, Fiennes was long renowned on the English stage. At the young age of 27, he had notable roles in Shakespeare plays at London's National Theatre and with the Royal Shakespeare Company. Even though his career soon led to film, he returned time and again to the theater, playing Hamlet, King Lear, Julius Caesar, and the island sorcerer Prospero. In CORIOLANUS, he plays the haughty, vindictive general Gaius Marcius Coriolanus, who has drawn the resentment of the Roman people upon himself.

In THE INVISIBLE WOMAN, his second film as director, Fiennes also played one of the main characters: legendary British author Charles Dickens, who starts a complicated love affair with a young actress named Nelly. Once again, the director made use of a literary template, Claire Tomalin's novel of the same title. In his relationship with Nelly, Dickens appears dominating and assertive, but actor Ralph Fiennes succeeds nonetheless in revealing the writer's uncertainty and vulnerability when growing older.

Determined and gentle, rebellious and subtle: that's the tone of Ralph Fiennes' work as a director. His films, like his roles, point out life's contradictions.

All films of this section >>

CineMerit Award | Ralph Fiennes

Das FILMFEST MÜNCHEN freut sich darauf, dass der britische Schauspieler und Regisseur Ralph Fiennes dieses Jahr am 1. Juli unser Gast sein wird. Er wird mit dem CineMerit Award, dem Ehrenpreis unseres Festivals ausgezeichnet. Außerdem wird er an einem Filmmakers Live!-Gespräch in der Black Box teilnehmen, bei dem Fans und Gäste dem Oscarnominierten selbst Fragen stellen können.

Ob als Lord Voldemort oder als SS-Hauptsturmführer Amon Göth versteht es Ralph Fiennes, pure Bosheit zu personalisieren. Doch er kann auch ein liebevoll-verspielter Concierge in Wes Andersons „Grand Budapest Hotel“ sein. Ralph Fiennes erfindet sich in seinen Schauspielrollen immer wieder aufs Neue, setzt überraschende Akzente und scheut niemals das Risiko. In einem Interview sagte er, dass ein Leben voller Widersprüche ihm als Schauspieler helfen würde, seine Figuren lebendig werden zu lassen. So prägte er Oscar-prämierte Dramen wie SCHINDLERS LISTE, DER EWIGE GÄRTNER oder DER ENGLISCHE PATIENT mit seinen intensiven und einzigartigen Darstellungen – und wurde dafür auch mehrfach mit internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet. Diese Wandelbarkeit ist es, die Fiennes zu einem herausragenden und vielseitigen Schauspieler macht, der in den letzten Jahren auch die Regie für sich entdeckt hat.

Daher wird das FILMFEST MÜNCHEN alle seine bisherigen Regiearbeiten sowie weitere Werke seines schauspielerischen Schaffens zeigen. Im Rahmen der CineMerit-Preisverleihung präsentiert das Filmfest seinen neuen Film NUREJEW – THE WHITE CROW. Fiennes führte nicht nur Regie, sondern spielte auch die Rolle des berühmten Leningrader Ballettmeisters Alexander Puschkin. Ein intensiver Blick reicht aus und die Aufmerksamkeit ist garantiert. Der Tanzlehrer Puschkin steht im leeren Raum, stoisch ruhig mit zart-bestimmtem Blick. An der Ballettstange warten seine Schüler auf sein Zeichen. Eine kleine Geste, ein prägnantes „Los geht’s“ – und der Ton ist gesetzt. Ebenso zart-bestimmt ist die Handschrift des Regisseurs Ralph Fiennes. Er inszeniert unaufgeregt sorgsam die unglaubliche Geschichte des legendären sowjetischen Ballettstars Rudolf Nurejew, der die Welt 1961 mit seiner Flucht nach Frankreich verblüffte. Gespielt wird Nurejew vom ukrainischen Weltklasse-Balletttänzer Oleg Ivenko.

In seiner ersten Regiearbeit CORIOLANUS übertrug Fiennes sein Verständnis für die Werke Shakespeares auf die Kinoeinwand. Denn bevor er im Film Erfolge feierte, war Fiennes in England längst aus dem Theater bekannt. Mit nur 27 Jahren spielte er wichtige Shakespeare-Rollen im Londoner National Theater und bei der Royal Shakespeare Company. Auch wenn ihn seine Karriere bald zum Film führte, kehrte er doch immer wieder zum Theater zurück, spielte Hamlet, King Lear, Julius Caesar und den Inselmagier Prospero. In CORIOLANUS spielte er selbst den titelgebenden hochmütigen und rachsüchtigen General Caius Martius Coriolanus, der den Unmut des römischen Volks auf sich gezogen hat.

Auch in seiner nächsten Regiearbeit THE INVISIBLE WOMAN spielte Fiennes eine der Hauptrollen, den legendären britischen Autor Charles Dickens, der mit der jungen Schauspielerin Nelly eine verzwickte Liebesgeschichte eingeht. Erneut greift der Regisseur hier auf eine literarische Vorlage zurück, den gleichnamigen Roman von Claire Tomalin. Dickens wirkt in der Beziehung zu Nelly gebieterisch und bestimmend, doch schafft es der Schauspieler Ralph Fiennes, seine Unsicherheit und Zerbrechlichkeit beim Älterwerden in das Spiel miteinfließen zu lassen.

Bestimmt und zart, aufrührerisch und feinsinnig, das ist der Ton der Regiearbeiten von Ralph Fiennes. Wie seine Rollen zeigen seine Filme die Widersprüche des Lebens auf.

Zu den Filmen dieser Reihe >>