CineMerit Award | Antonio Banderas

This year, FILMFEST MÜNCHEN is extending its recognition to exceptional Spanish actor Antonio Banderas in the form of a CineMerit Award. Recently honored as best actor at the Cannes Film Festival, Banderas, 58, will present his latest film, PAIN AND GLORY (2019), in Munich. Four other films that represent significant points in the actor's career will be shown alongside it.

Inspired as a teenager by the musical HAIR (1974), Banderas made the unwavering decision to become an actor. For five years, he received a broad education at ESAEM, the Performing Arts College, in Málaga before heading to Madrid.

Banderas didn't have an easy time in Madrid until he took the entrance exam for the Teatro Nacional and was accepted there. It was at this theater that he discovered his key to a movie career in the form of Pedro Almodóvar. The director, completely unknown at the time, and the young actor immediately discovered that they shared the same passion and fearlessness. The groundwork was laid for their collaboration on the wild and very sexual comedy LABYRINTH OF PASSION (1982); many more joint efforts would follow.

LAW OF DESIRE (1987), which caused a minor scandal by breaking numerous taboos, and WOMEN ON THE VERGE OF A NERVOUS BREAKDOWN (1988), which was nominated for an Oscar, established both Banderas and Almodóvar nationally and internationally in their wake.

Before Banderas set off for Hollywood to make MAMBO KINGS (1992), however, he collaborated one more time with his favorite Spanish director on TIE ME UP! TIE ME DOWN! (1989). In this intense romantic drama, he plays a former mental patient named Ricky who is obsessed with the desire to marry a porn actress named Maria. To make his dream come true, he ties her to the bed in her apartment.

Fluctuating between violence and vulnerability, Banderas portrays a man driven insane by love. In DESPERADO (1995), the actor further demonstrated his ability to portray the many facets of his characters as well as their contradictory thoughts and feelings. To play the reticent antihero, he channeled all of his expression into the demeanor of the singer who seeks bloody revenge for the murder of the woman he loved. With this film, Banderas showed that he understood how to get not only Europeans, but also Americans, to go to the movies.

Banderas' own passion for music, touched upon in DESPERADO, was pursued outright in the musical EVITA (1996). As a worker named Che, he comments on the events surrounding the rise, fame, and untimely death of Eva Duartes, perhaps the most famous first lady of Argentina. The film's tremendous success cemented Banderas's reputation as an actor who mesmerizes both critics and moviegoers.

He followed this up with THE MASK OF ZORRO (1998), in which he once again dives into innumerable adventures as a vengeful hero. In a role tailor-made for Banderas, he is the seducer who not only has wit, but also a kind heart, on his side.

In his subsequent career, Banderas has been happy to collaborate with old colleagues and continue existing series of films. Yet he has never allowed himself to be typecast. He played Mexican artist David Alfaro Siqueiros in FRIDA (2002), just as he played painter Pablo Picasso in the TV series GENIUS (2017– ), and also lent his voice to Puss in Boots in SHREK 2 (2004).

Most recently, in PAIN AND GLORY, Banderas returned to his roots as an actor and to his first director, Pedro Almodóvar. As director Salvador Mallo, an alter ego of Almodóvar, Banderas portrays his friend in subtle nuances and, as always, with captivating physicality.

Tatjana Michel

All films of this section >>

CineMerit Award | Antonio Banderas

Das FILMFEST MÜNCHEN würdigt in diesem Jahr den spanischen Ausnahme-Schauspieler Antonio Banderas mit einem CineMerit Award. Unlängst als bester Darsteller auf dem Filmfestival in Cannes ausgezeichnet, präsentiert der 58-Jährige seinen neuesten Film LEID UND HERRLICHKEIT (2019) in München. Daneben werden vier Filme, die wichtige Stationen in der Karriere des Künstlers markieren, gezeigt.

Inspiriert von dem Musical HAIR (1974) fasste Banderas schon als Jugendlicher den unumstößlichen Entschluss, Schauspieler zu werden. Fünf Jahre lang genoss er deswegen an der High School of Dramatic Art in Málaga eine breitgefächerte Ausbildung, bevor er nach Madrid aufbrach.

Madrid sollte es Banderas zunächst nicht einfach machen, bis er bei der Aufnahmeprüfung am Teatro Nacional antrat und aufgenommen wurde. Dort lernte er auch seinen Schlüssel zum Film, in der Person von Pedro Almodóvar, kennen. Der damals noch völlig unbekannte Regisseur und der junge Schauspieler entdeckten sofort die gleiche Leidenschaft und Furchtlosigkeit im jeweils anderen. Die Zusammenarbeit für die wilde, vor Sexualität strotzende Komödie LABYRINTH DER LEIDENSCHAFTEN (1982) war geboren und viele weitere gemeinsame Werke sollten folgen.

Mit dem Film DAS GESETZ DER BEGIERDE (1987), der aufgrund seiner vielen Tabubrüche einen kleinen Skandal auslöste und mit dem weltweiten Erfolg FRAUEN AM RANDE DES NERVENZUSAMMENBRUCHS (1988), welcher mit einer Oscar-Nominierung bedachte wurde, etablierten sich in der Folge sowohl Banderas als auch Almodóvar national wie international.

Bevor Banderas jedoch für MAMBO KINGS (1992) nach Hollywood aufbrechen sollte, folgte die zunächst letzte Kollaboration mit seinem spanischen Lieblingsregisseur für FESSLE MICH! (1989). In dem intensiven Liebesdrama spielt er Ricky, der nach seiner Entlassung aus der Psychiatrie den brennenden Wunsch hegt, die Pornodarstellerin Marina zu heiraten. Für die Erfüllung seines Traumes hält er sie – ans Bett gefesselt – in ihrer eigenen Wohnung fest.

Zwischen roher Gewalt und Verwundbarkeit oszillierend, zeichnete Banderas einen vor Liebe wahnsinnigen Mann. Die Fähigkeit, seine Charaktere mit allen ihren Facetten wie auch widersprüchlichen Gedanken und Empfindungen darzustellen, bewies Banderas ebenfalls als rachesuchender Mariachi-Sänger in DESPERADO (1995). Für den wortkargen Antihelden legte er seinen ganzen Ausdruck in das Auftreten des Sängers, der blutige Vergeltung für seine ermordete Geliebte sucht. Mit dem Film zeigte Banderas außerdem, dass er es auch in Amerika verstand die Menschen ins Kino zu locken.

Einer anderen Leidenschaft, nämlich der für die Musik, welche in DESPERADO bereits anklang, konnte Banderas mit dem Musical EVITA (1996) vollkommen nachgehen. Als Arbeiter Che kommentiert er die Entwicklungen um Aufstieg, Ruhm und den frühen Tod Eva Duartes, der vielleicht bekanntesten First Lady Argentiniens. Der große Erfolg des Films festigte Banderas‘ Ruf als Schauspieler, der Kritiker wie Kinogänger in seinen Bann zieht.

Daran konnte er auch mit DIE MASKE DES ZORRO (1998) anknüpfen, in dem er sich erneut als rachesuchender Held in unzählige Abenteuer stürzt. In der Banderas auf dem Leib geschneiderten Rolle, ist er der Verführer, der nicht nur den Witz, sondern auch ein gutes Herz auf seiner Seite weiß.

In seiner weiteren Karriere arbeitete er gerne mit vorherigen Weggefährten zusammen und führte Filmreihen fort. Doch auf einen bestimmten Figurentypus festlegen, ließ er sich nie: Er spielte den mexikanischen Künstler David Alfaro Siqueiros in FRIDA (2002) genauso wie den Maler Pablo Picasso in der TV-Serie GENIUS (2017-) und lieh dem gestiefelten Kater von SHREK 2 (2004) seine Stimme.

Zuletzt kehrte Banderas mit LEID UND HERRLICHKEIT an seine Anfänge als Schauspieler und zu seinem ersten Regisseur Pedro Almodóvar zurück. Als Alter Ego des Filmemachers in der Figur des Regisseurs Salvador Mallo, porträtiert er seinen Freund darin in feinen Nuancen und – wie immer – mit seiner vereinnahmenden Körperlichkeit.

Tatjana Michel

Zu den Filmen dieser Reihe >>