Retrospective | Bong Joon Ho

In Bong Joon Ho, FILMFEST MÜNCHEN is honoring not only one of the most renowned international filmmakers of the moment, but also the recently selected winner of the Golden Palm in Cannes. This retrospective will present the creative work of the 49-year-old South Korean director from a span of nearly 20 years.

Starting with his first film, the tragicomedy BARKING DOGS NEVER BITE (2000), Bong proved himself to be a master of subtle observation. Everyday stories are interrupted by absurd moments; fixed boundaries between genres are consistently ignored, as are any expectations the viewer might have. This also applies to MEMORIES OF MURDER (2003), which gave this exceptional director his international breakthrough. This bleak thriller about a real series of murders in the 1980s makes surprising use of black humor and is at the same time a nuanced portrait of South Korea during its era of military dictatorship.

Even THE HOST (2006) is far more than the usual monster movie. When a giant amphibious creature, mutated by hazardous waste, hunts people, the classical ingredients of adventure are combined with a biting satire of society and sideswipes at the US military. Bong hit a nerve with this genre hybrid; after its premiere in Cannes, it was a record-breaking success in South Korea. The director's next two works proved that he could also make films about more intimate stories. In the anthology TOKYO! (2008), a reclusive man finds new hope (of love), while the award-winning thriller drama MOTHER (2009) demonstrates as entertainingly as it does shockingly the extent of unconditional love.

Having thus established himself in the business once and for all, he added a bit of Hollywood luster to the familiar qualities in his next two films. In graphic novel-based SNOWPIERCER (2013), about a future world that's succumbed to a new ice age, as well as in the Netflix production OKJA (2017), big names in show business, from Chris Evans, Tilda Swinton, and John Hurt to Jake Gyllenhaal and Paul Dano, lined up to work with him. Still no trace of obliging cinematic homogeneity. Both works take a critical approach to socially relevant themes such as factory farming, growing divisions in society, and the excesses of capitalism while still managing to indulge in the grotesque.

This is also true of Bong's latest work, PARASITE (2019), in which the director returns to his roots while at the same time creating something completely new. When Bong tells the story of two families that could not be more different, it is also the "best of" an extraordinary career and an utterly surprising new beginning. This mixture of black humor, great tragedy, and thriller was very positively received at its premiere in Cannes and is being screened for the first time in Germany at FILMFEST MÜNCHEN.

All films of this section >>

Retrospektive | Bong Joon Ho

Mit Bong Joon Ho ehrt das FILMFEST MÜNCHEN nicht nur einen der renommiertesten Filmemacher des aktuellen Weltkinos, sondern auch den frisch gekürten Gewinner der Goldenen Palme in Cannes. Im Rahmen einer Retrospektive wird das Schaffen des 49-jährigen Südkoreaners aus beinahe 20 Jahren präsentiert.

Von seinem ersten Film an, der Tragikomödie HUNDE, DIE BELLEN, BEISSEN NICHT (2000), zeigte sich Bong als Meister der feinen Beobachtungen: Alltägliche Geschichten werden von absurden Momenten gebrochen, konsequent verweigert er sich festen Genregrenzen oder Erwartungen. So auch bei MEMORIES OF MURDER (2003), mit dem der Ausnahmeregisseur seinen internationalen Durchbruch schaffte. Der düstere Thriller über eine reale Mordserie in den 1980ern überrascht durch schwarzen Humor und ist zugleich ein nuanciertes Porträt Südkoreas während der Militärdiktatur.

Auch THE HOST (2006) ist weit mehr als ein gewöhnlicher Monsterfilm: Wenn ein durch giftige Abfälle mutiertes Riesen-Amphibium Jagd auf Menschen macht, dann mischen sich klassische Abenteuerelemente mit bissiger Gesellschaftssatire, Seitenhiebe auf das US-Militär inklusive. Bong traf damit einen Nerv, sein bei den Filmfestspielen in Cannes uraufgeführter Genrezwitter brach in Südkorea alle Rekorde. Dass der Filmemacher sich auch auf intimere Geschichten abseits des Spektakels versteht, das bewies er mit seinen nächsten beiden Werken: In der Anthologie TOKYO! (2008) findet ein zurückgezogen lebender Mann eine neue (Liebes-)Hoffnung. Während das preisgekrönte Thrillerdrama MOTHER (2009) ebenso unterhaltsam wie erschreckend die Ausmaße einer bedingungslosen Liebe demonstriert.

Nun endgültig zum Star geworden, verband er bei seinen nächsten beiden Werken gewohnte Qualitäten mit neuem Hollywood-Glanz: Sowohl in dem auf einer Graphic Novel basierenden SNOWPIERCER (2013) über eine in Eis versunkene Zukunft wie auch bei der Netflix-Produktion OKJA (2017) standen Größen des Showbusiness Schlange – von Chris Evans über Tilda Swinton und John Hurt bis zu Jake Gyllenhaal und Paul Dano. Von gefälligem Einheitskino dennoch keine Spur: Beide Werke setzen sich kritisch mit gesellschaftlich relevanten Themen wie Massentierhaltung, sozialer Spaltung und Auswüchsen des Kapitalismus auseinander, ohne dabei den Spaß am Grotesken zu verlieren.

Das gilt auch für das neueste Werk PARASITE (2019), mit dem Bong Joon Ho zurück zu seinen Wurzeln geht und doch etwas völlig Neues schafft. Wenn der Regisseur von zwei Familien erzählt, die unterschiedlicher nicht sein können, dann ist das gleichzeitig das Best of einer außergewöhnlichen Karriere und ein völlig überraschender Neuanfang. Die Mischung aus schwarzem Humor, großer Tragik und Thriller wurde bei seiner Premiere in Cannes gefeiert und ist im Rahmen des FILMFEST MÜNCHEN erstmals in Deutschland zu sehen.

Oliver Armknecht

Zu den Filmen dieser Reihe >>