Awards & Winners

Sophie Opel Award

The Sophie Opel Prize, carrying a purse of €20,000 donated by Adam Opel AG, was awarded for the first time in 2016 for the three best short or commercial films by new talents. The winners are selected by an independent jury.

The limited number and quality of valid submissions in 2017 failed to convince the jury. All our partners therefore agreed not to award the prize this year. The support of Adam Opel AG for FILMFEST MÜNCHEN and for new film talents remains unaffected by this decision.

Previous winners



1. Place
Director: David Helmut

2. Place
Director: Bernhard Wenger

3. Place
Director: Chiara Grabmayr