THE WHITE CROW

German Age Rating

Film Website

Watch Trailer

After focusing on the life and times of a Roman general in CORIOLANUS (2011), loosely adapted from Shakespeare, and on Charles Dickens's affair with an 18-year-old actress in THE INVISIBLE WOMAN (2013), Ralph Fiennes turns to the story of Soviet ballet dancer Rudolf Nureyev in his third film as director. Basing his work on a screenplay by David Hare, Fiennes casts light on a pivotal moment in Nureyev's career, when Leningrad's Kirov Ballet performed in Paris during the Cold War. As a member of the ensemble, Nureyev eagerly attends rehearsals, but he also uses the breaks between them to explore the city and find inspiration in the art exhibited in its museums. In the company of a Chilean acquaintance, Clara Saint, he enjoys the permissive night life of the city's jazz clubs. Occasional black-and-white flashbacks give an impression of Nureyev's childhood and his eventual interest in dance.
A complex portrait of an artist emerges in which Fiennes himself plays the part of renowned ballet master Alexander Ivanovich Pushkin. As his instructor, he not only takes Nureyev under his wing, but also invites him into his home, derailing the Pushkins' marriage. In this character, who corrects his pupils' posture with measured calmness, one recognizes the director, who guides his leading actor, Ukrainian ballet dancer and cinematic newcomer Oleg Ivenko, to an authentic performance. At the same time, a compact impression of the Cold War era emerges: when Nureyev, under constant surveillance by Soviet agents, decides he doesn't want to turn his back on a life in Paris, the film turns into an exciting political thriller. Outsiders, we're told at the beginning, are known as "white crows". Nureyev no longer wants to go back into the cage of his communist home country. He wants to be free, to fly.

The screening on July 1st is part of the CineMerit Award Ceremony.

Also in this Program:
CINEMERIT GALA: RALPH FIENNES

tags: Loneliness, History, Politics, Feature film, Dance

Cast: Oleg Ivenko, Ralph Fiennes, Louis Hofmann, Adèle Exarchopoulos, Sergei Polunin

Credits

Screenplay: David Hare

Director of Photography: Mike Eley

Film Editor: Barney Pilling

Composer: Ilan Eshkeri

Production Designer: Anne Seibel

Costume Design: Madeline Fontaine

Producer: Gabrielle Tana, Ralph Fiennes, Carolyn Marks Blackwood, Andrew Levitas, François Ivernel

Co-Producer: Meg Clark, Mark Cooper

Production Company: Magnolia Mae Films Limited

Co-Production Company: Lonely Dragon Productions, Montebello Productions, Metalwork Pictures

World Sales: Hanway Films Limited

Distributor: Alamode Filmdistribution oHG

Director: Ralph Fiennes

biography

Ralph Fiennes was born in Ipswich, England, in 1962. He learned to act at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art in London. In 1987, he became a member of the Royal National Theatre, and a short time later, a member of the Royal Shakespeare Company. His cinema debut came in WUTHERING HEIGHTS (1992). A year later, his portrayal of a Nazi officer in Steven Spielberg's SCHINDLER'S LIST (1993) earned him an Oscar nomination and numerous offers of roles. Fiennes played the leading role in Robert Redford's QUIZ SHOW (1994) and was again nominated for an Oscar for his performance in THE ENGLISH PATIENT (1996). His career on the stage continued all the while; his performance as Hamlet in a Broadway production in 1995 resulted in a nomination for a Tony Award. In motion pictures, he portrayed a writer in Neil Jordan's THE END OF THE AFFAIR (1999), a serial killer in RED DRAGON (2002), and a widower who seeks revenge for the death of his wife in THE CONSTANT GARDENER (2005). In 2008 he had distinctive roles in IN BRUGES, THE READER, THE DUCHESS, and THE HURT LOCKER. In the Harry Potter films, he played Lord Voldemort, and in SKYFALL (2012) and SPECTRE (2015) James Bond's boss, M. He demonstrated his comedic talent in such films as Wes Anderson's THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL (2014) and the Coen Brothers' HAIL, CAESAR! (2016). Fiennes has also lent his voice to various animated films, such as THE PRINCE OF EGYPT (1998) and THE LEGO BATMAN MOVIE (2017). In CORIOLANUS, his first film as director, he took on the title role, which he had performed on stage in 2000. In 2013, he made his second full-length feature film, THE INVISIBLE WOMAN, in which he played author Charles Dickens, who had an (historically authenticated) affair with a young actress. The biopic THE WHITE CROW (2018) is Fiennes's third feature film.

Screenings

Saturday, 6/29/2019, 8:30 PM (127 Min.)
Gasteig Carl-Amery-Saal

With German subtitles

Select Press
Monday, 7/1/2019, 6:00 PM (172 Min.)
Gasteig Carl-Orff-Saal

With English subtitles / Q&A after the film

Saturday, 7/6/2019, 6:00 PM (127 Min.)
Rio 1

With German subtitles

NUREJEW - THE WHITE CROW

Nachdem er sich in CORIOLANUS (2011), frei nach Shakespeare, mit dem gleichnamigen römischen Feldherrn und in THE INVISIBLE WOMAN (2013) mit Charles Dickens’ Beziehung zu einer 18-jährigen Schauspielerin beschäftigte, nimmt sich Ralph Fiennes in seiner dritten Regiearbeit der Geschichte des sowjetischen Ballett-Stars Rudolf Nurejew an. Ausgehend von David Hares Drehbuch beleuchtet Fiennes die Karriere Nurejews an einem zentralen Lebenspunkt: In den 1960ern, während des Kalten Krieges, gastierte das Leningrader Kirow-Ballett in Paris. Nurejew wirft sich als Mitglied des Ensembles ehrgeizig in die Proben, nutzt aber auch die Pausen, um sich die Stadt, ihre in Museen ausgestellte Kunst anzusehen und sich davon inspirieren zu lassen. Begleitet von der Chilenin Clara Saint genießt er nachts die freizügige Atmosphäre in den Jazz-Clubs. Eingestreute Schwarz-Weiß-Rückblenden geben zudem einen Eindruck von Nurejews Kindheit, und wie er sich letztlich dem Tanz zuwandte.
So entsteht ein vielschichtiges Künstlerporträt, in dem Fiennes selbst die Rolle des berühmten Ballettmeisters Alexander Iwanowitsch Puschkin spielt. Dieser nimmt Nurejew nicht nur als Schüler unter seine Fittiche, sondern auch bei sich zu Hause auf, was das Eheleben Puschkins aus dem Gleis bringt. In dieser Figur, die die Positionen seiner Schüler mit bedächtiger Ruhe korrigiert, lässt sich ein Spiegelbild des Regisseurs erkennen, der gerade seinen Hauptdarsteller, den ukrainischen Ballett-Tänzer und Film-Newcomer Oleg Iwenko, zu einer glaubwürdigen Darstellung anleitet. Gleichzeitig entsteht ein atmosphärisch dichtes Bild der Zeit während des Kalten Krieges: Als Nurejew, ständig beobachtet vom sowjetischen Geheimdienst, das Leben in Paris nicht hinter sich lassen will, entwickelt sich der Film zum spannenden Polit-Thriller. Außenseiter, heißt es zu Beginn, werden als „weiße Krähe“ bezeichnet. Nurejew will nicht mehr in den Käfig der kommunistischen Heimat zurück. Er will frei sein, fliegen.

Die Vorstellung am 01.07.2019 findet im Rahmen der CineMerit-Preisverleihung an Ralph Fiennes statt.

Außerdem in diesem Programm:
CINEMERIT GALA: RALPH FIENNES

tags: Einsamkeit, Geschichte, Politik, Spielfilm, Tanz

Darsteller: Oleg Ivenko, Ralph Fiennes, Louis Hofmann, Adèle Exarchopoulos, Sergei Polunin

Credits

Drehbuch: David Hare

Kamera: Mike Eley

Schnitt: Barney Pilling

Musik: Ilan Eshkeri

Produktionsdesign: Anne Seibel

Kostüme: Madeline Fontaine

Produzent: Gabrielle Tana, Ralph Fiennes, Carolyn Marks Blackwood, Andrew Levitas, François Ivernel

Koproduzent: Meg Clark, Mark Cooper

Produktion (Firma): Magnolia Mae Films Limited

Koproduktion (Firma): Lonely Dragon Productions, Montebello Productions, Metalwork Pictures

Weltvertrieb: Hanway Films Limited

Verleih: Alamode Filmdistribution oHG

Regie: Ralph Fiennes

Biografie

Ralph Fiennes wurde 1962 in Ipswich in der englischen Grafschaft Suffolk geboren. Sein Schauspielhandwerk lernte er an der Royal Academy of Dramatic Art in London. Seit 1987 ist er Mitglied des Royal National Theatre, kurz darauf wurde er von der Royal Shakespeare Company engagiert. Sein Kinofilm-Debüt gab er in WUTHERING HEIGHTS (1992). Ein Jahr später spielte er einen Nazikommandanten in Steven Spielbergs SCHINDLERS LISTE (1993). Für seine darstellerische Leistung wurde Fiennes für den Oscar nominiert und bekam gehäuft Kinorollen. Er spielte die Hauptrolle in Robert Redfords QUIZ SHOW (1994) und wurde für seine Darstellung in DER ENGLISCHE PATIENT (1996) erneut für den Oscar nominiert. Währenddessen verfolgte er weiterhin seine Bühnenkarriere, spielte u.a. Hamlet in einer Broadway-Produktion von 1995 und erhielt dafür eine Tony-Nominierung. Im Kino spielte er u.a. einen Schriftsteller in Neil Jordans DAS ENDE EINER AFFÄRE (1999), einen Serienkiller in ROTER DRACHE (2002) und einen Witwer, der den Tod seiner Frau rächen will in THE CONSTANT GARDENER (2005). 2008 spielte er in BRÜGGE SEHEN... UND STERBEN?, DER VORLESER, DIE HERZOGIN und TÖDLICHES KOMMANDO – THE HURT LOCKER markante Rollen. In der Harry-Potter-Filmreihe verkörperte er Lord Voldemort, in SKYFALL (2012) und SPECTRE (2015) den Boss von James Bond, M. Sein komödiantisches Talent bewies er in Filmen wie GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL (2014) von Wes Anderson und HAIL, CAESAR! (2016) von den Coen-Brüdern. Als Sprecher war er in diversen Animationsfilmen zu hören, etwa in DER PRINZ VON ÄGYPTEN (1998) und THE LEGO BATMAN MOVIE (2017). Mit CORIOLANUS legte Fiennes 2011 sein Regiedebüt vor und übernahm selbst die Titelrolle, die er bereits 2000 auf der Bühne gespielt hatte. 2013 folgte mit THE INVISIBLE WOMAN sein zweiter abendfüllender Spielfilm: Darin übernahm Fiennes selbst die Rolle des Schriftstellers Charles Dickens, der eine (historisch verbürgte) Affäre mit einer jungen Schauspielerin hatte. Das Biopic NUREJEW – THE WHITE CROW (2018) ist Fiennes dritter Spielfilm.

Vorstellungen

Samstag, 29.06.2019, 20:30 Uhr (127 Min.)
Gasteig Carl-Amery-Saal

OmdU

Merken Presse
Montag, 01.07.2019, 18:00 Uhr (172 Min.)
Gasteig Carl-Orff-Saal

OmeU / Q&A nach dem Film

Samstag, 06.07.2019, 18:00 Uhr (127 Min.)
Rio 1

OmdU