Film - CineVision Competition Filmfest 2022


Directed by Riley Keough, Gina Gammell


Director: Riley Keough, Gina Gammell
Section: CineVision Competition
Country: USA
Year: 2022
Language: English
Version: Original version
Cast: Jojo Bapteise Whiting, Ladainian Crazy Thunder, Jesse Schmockel, Wilma Colhoff, Iona Red Bear
18+ (no age rating)


Two directors make an impressive debut as their authentic cast conveys a seldom-told indigenous perspective.

Twenty-three-year-old Bill and twelve-year-old Matho are growing up on the Pine Ridge Reservation. Bill’s plan is to make it in life. He’s determined to pursue the American dream, be it by siphoning gasoline, delivering goods, or raising poodles. Meanwhile, Matho, son of a young father, can’t wait to become a man himself — but a series of impulsive decisions turns his life upside down. This film is the brand-new recipient of the Camera d’Or for best debut (and the Palm Dog, woof!) at Cannes.

Meet the director


Riley Keough, Gina Gammell

Gina Gammell started out producing and directing short-format music videos and commercials. In 2017 Gammell produced her first feature film. In 2018 she founded Felix Culpa with Riley Keough, and in 2019 the two of them co-wrote and co-directed their first feature film, WAR PONY.

Riley Keough is best known for her roles in George Miller’s MAD MAX: FURY ROAD (2015), Amy Seimetz and Lodge Kerrigan’s THE GIRLFRIEND EXPERIENCE (2016), Andrea Arnold’s AMERICAN HONEY (2016), Steven Soderbergh’s LOGAN LUCKY (2017), and Lars Von Triers’ THE HOUSE THAT JACK BUILT (2018). AMERICAN HONEY garnered Riley an Independent Spirit Award nomination, and THE GIRLFRIEND EXPERIENCE earned her a Golden Globe nomination.


Screenplay: Franklin Sioux Bob, Bill Reddy, Gina Gammell, Riley Keough
Director of Photography: David Gallego, A.D.F.C.
Film Editor: Affonso Gonçalves A.C.E., Eduardo Serrano, Ernie Gilbert
Composer: Christopher Stracey, Mato Wayuhi, Ben Sokoler
Production Designer: Scout Dougan
Costume Design: Miyako Bellizzi, Alex Lee
Casting director: Eléonore Hendricks, Abby Harri, CSA
Producer: Bert Hamelinck, Sacha Ben Harroche, Ryan Zacarias, Willi White, Gina Gammell, Riley Keough
Production Company: Caviar, Felix Culpa
Executive producer: Pte San Win Poor Bear
Co-Producer: Eléonore Hendricks, Lizzie Shapiro
World Sales: Protagonist Pictures