Christoph Gröner

Artistic Director / New German Cinema
christoph.groener at filmfest muenchen de

Christoph 2020 (1)

Film thrives when it fulfills its own criteria — when cinephiles discover something in a blockbuster, when the industry respects the creative power of the avant-garde.

My love of cinema was born of a suburban love of VHS tapes. The collected works of Monty Python’s Flying Circus, Woody Allen, and John Carpenter paved my way to the cinema — Allen’s LOVE AND DEATH (1973) to Bergman, John Carpenter to pulp — which led to a decidedly eclectic taste in film.

FILMFEST MÜNCHEN 2004 was a threshold; it redirected my passion from wanting to know everything about cinema to doing a lot for cinema myself. I spent 16 hours a day writing a daily Filmfest newsletter, which turned out not to have been distributed — supposedly the copier wasn’t working. Someone must have had a guilty conscience, since I was given a job as a magazine editor the following year. Circulation: 100,000.

From there, one thing led to another. I was a host at FILMSCHOOLFEST MUNICH for seven years, curating films with a soft spot for any project involving Mads Mikkelsen, Alice Rohrwacher, or Bong Joon Ho. I wrote for the Abendzeitung, Süddeutsche Zeitung, Blickpunkt:Film and Film & TV Kameramann.

From 2011 onwards at FILMFEST MÜNCHEN, I focused on discovering German talent and exceptional films, and since 2014 international celebrities as well. Since 2019, I’ve been running the gamut as FILMFEST MÜNCHEN’s artistic director. Film thrives when it fulfills its own criteria — when cinephiles discover something in a blockbuster, when the industry respects the creative power of the avant-garde. On that note, I also work for the A-list festival in Tallinn and introduce films on Arte.

Christoph Gröner

Künstlerischer Leiter / Neues Deutsches Kino

Christoph 2020 (1)

Film lebt, wenn er seine eigenen Kriterien erfüllt – wenn Cinephile im Blockbuster etwas entdecken, wenn die Industrie die kreative Kraft der Avantgarde respektiert.

Die Liebe zum Kino entstand aus der Vorstadtliebe zur VHS. Die gesammelten Folgen des „Flying Circus“, Woody Allen und John Carpenter – sie ebneten mir den Weg ins Kino. Allens LETZTE NACHT DES BORIS GRUSCHENKO Richtung Bergman, John Carpenter Richtung Pulp. Was zu einem betont eklektischen Filmgeschmack führte.

Das FILMFEST MÜNCHEN 2004 war eine Schwellenerfahrung, brachte mich von der Leidenschaft, alles über Kino wissen zu wollen dazu, selbst viel für das Kino zu tun. Ich schrieb zunächst ein Filmfest-Daily, 16 Stunden pro Tag, das dann nicht verteilt wurde – angeblich streikte der Kopierer. Mutmaßlich aus schlechtem Gewissen gab es dann im Jahr darauf einen Job als Magazinredakteur. Auflage: 100.000 Stück. 

Von da aus führte eins zum anderen – ich war sieben Jahre Host beim Filmschoolfest Munich, kuratierte mit Faible für Projekte mit Mads Mikkelsen, Alice Rohrwacher oder Bong Joon Ho. Schrieb bei der Abendzeitung, Süddeutschen Zeitung, Blickpunkt:Film und Film & TV Kameramann. 

Für das Filmfest ging es ab 2011 um die Entdeckung deutscher Talente und Ausnahmefilme, seit 2014 auch um internationale Stars. Seit 2019 spanne ich den gesamten Bogen für das FILMFEST MÜNCHEN als künstlerischer Leiter. Film lebt, wenn er seine eigenen Kriterien erfüllt – wenn Cinephile im Blockbuster etwas entdecken, wenn die Industrie die kreative Kraft der Avantgarde respektiert. In diesem Sinne, ohne E und U, arbeite ich auch für das A-Festival in Tallinn und führe auf ARTE Filme ein.